Thursday, December 31, 2015

Mini-Review: Caged Magic (Wing Slayer Hunters #5)

Blurb:

Risa Faden is a witch whose ultra-powerful shield magic is slowly breaking her mind. But when her beloved goddaughter is snatched by a demon, she’ll risk anything to rescue the baby—including lying to the handsome, intriguing stranger who has the power to help her keep her sanity, save the child…and steal her heart.
Linc Dillinger is a Wing Slayer Hunter whose sexy, rich, bad-boy charm hides a treacherous betrayal that left him emotionally scarred. As a result he risks his life to protect innocents, but is incapable of love—until he meets a beautiful witch who can save his cursed soul. Risa’s fierce courage and loyalty reaches past his barriers and he begins to believe she has the magic to free his caged heart.
But Risa’s lie explodes into dark danger that forces Linc into a hellish high-stakes gamble: He must either win the witch he loves and her godchild…or endure a loss that will destroy them all.
Themes: Witches, Demons, Paranormal
Rating: 4.75 stars
Heat Rating: 
Review:
 This book has been a LOOOONNNGGG time coming but I was thrilled to see that the Wing Slayers were coming back.  I found this series by chance a few years ago and have enjoyed learning about this new and interesting group of individuals.  Lyon has an interesting take on the relationships between witches, demons, and other paranormal entities, one that is unique and I have not found repeated elsewhere.  If you are coming into the series starting with Linc’s story I will tell you there is a lot of detail to this group you will be confused on, but there’s enough info to keep the story from feeling boring or distanced from the whole series.  I liked Linc even though he is definitely a bad boy, because under all his craziness is a heart that expands to let the best of people into it.  He has dedicated himself to a lot of great causes and is determined not to let his past drag him back into the darkness he finally escaped.  Meeting Risa throws him for a loop, but when they join forces to battle the demon that has kidnapped her goddaughter there is nothing that will stop them.  I admired Risa’s willingness to do just about anything, even lie to her new friends, so that she could save the baby, but I wish she had gotten the chance to clear the air before tragedy strikes.  The passion between Linc and Risa is undeniable and the sweetness that we get to see between them makes their love even more believable.  I’m thrilled the series has picked up again and am looking forward to more and to sharing this great continuing series with my friends.  Keep the magic alive, Jennifer. 

*eARC provided by publisher (via netgalley) for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided.

Thursday, December 24, 2015

Review: Unwrapped (Hunk for the Holidays #3)

Blurb:

Good things come in sexy packages...
Jacqueline Maguire has a problem tying the knot. After fleeing the altar (again), the runaway bride drives off with no particular destination in mind. Which is how Jac finds herself stranded in a snowstorm with a hot, hard-bodied stranger who treats her to the naughtiest night of her life... but come morning, he's long gone.
Contractor Patrick McPherson is deeply committed to his bachelor lifestyle. No strings, no rings. As the Christmas season approaches, however, Patrick still can't quite forget his curvalicious one-night stand. Then Jac shows up unexpectedly, and all holiday hell breaks loose. Because this year, Patrick is getting the biggest Christmas surprise of his life...
Themes: holiday, contemporary
Rating: 4.5 stars
Heat Rating: 
Review:
 Patrick has finally met his match!  I stumbled across this series a few holiday seasons ago when the first, Hunk for the Holidays, was released and it looked too good to resist.  Then I was thrilled to find out that there would be more stories about this family of super sexy and successful people in one of my favorite parts of the country.  The best part is the setting almost always works out with the holidays because I get to imagine myself there with them in the snow, because it’s Colorado!  That being said, this story had some real issues to overcome for me, mainly the way both characters looked at the other as shallow and useless.  It was obvious to the readers that neither character really saw the other at first, and their first meeting was definitely strange.   Set around a woman’s quest to meet her aunt’s requirements for marriage to receive her inheritance and one man’s refusal to ever settle down you knew right away there would be fireworks.  Lane always manages to rip my heart out and then fill it right back up with the drama and obstacles she throws at these couples.  Since this series always revolves around the holidays there is inherently that craziness with families and strangers around this time of year, but Katie handles everything with such levity and true goodness that you know the characters will truly find their HEA, even once the trees are down and the midnight kisses have been given. 
Patrick has escaped his crazy family to hide out at his cabin in the woods when he finds himself confronted with a woman that seems just the other side of sane, but that pulls at his hormones and emotions like no other woman ever has.  Jac feels like she has just escaped a true disaster when she finds herself alone the morning after running into Patrick’s cabin, and when the cops come to take her to safety she tries to forget the man that no one else seems to think really existed.  But soon it becomes imperative she find him, and when she comes back into his life with a bang and crash, Patrick will have to deal with his feelings for her and find a way to really build a relationship. 
This story was one of those that you could never believe happening in real life, because really no one could be this nuts at her age, but Jac’s antics make the story lively and interesting in the extreme, even though most of her crazy actions drive Patrick to insanity.  Patrick is obviously a good guy, but set in his ways and refuses to change the way he views people and their motivations.  It took him entirely too long to accept that his feelings for Jac went beyond like and friendship, almost to the point of losing her.  But thankfully there is a certain jolly elf that seems to be looking out for him and Jac.  Jac on the other hand had me shaking my head, laughing, and crying with equal intensity.  She seems a bit like a shallow airhead but then has some seriously deep moments that make you wonder why she puts on such a dumb-blonde-girl front.  Seeing her grow up and come to appreciate just how important Patrick—and the family he brings along with him—is to Jac and her happiness, really showed the readers that even the most vapid seeming individuals could simply be hiding unimaginable depths of pain and fear.  The heat between Patrick and Jac was hot enough to melt the Colorado winter snow, but it came with moments of laughter, sweetness, and playfulness that keep the passion from seeming contrived.  I am wondering if this will be the last in the series, but I would love to see Jac’s sister Bailey fall in love and of course getting to see more of the McPherson’s as Christmases pass will be wonderful.  Happy holidays and many thanks, Katie!

*eARC provided by publisher (via netgalley) for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided.

Wednesday, December 16, 2015

ARC Review: The Striker (Highland Guard #10)

Blurb:

 Six years ago, Eoin "Striker” MacLean endured the greatest betrayal of his life, a disaster that led Robert the Bruce to a crushing defeat and left Eoin without the spirited woman who ruled his heart. Eoin knew that falling in love with his sworn enemy’s daughter was risky, dividing him between a possessive desire for beautiful Margaret MacDowell and an undying loyalty to his king. He promised Bruce that he would keep his fiery bride in the dark about the elite Highland Guard, but he could not predict the dire consequences his secret would have on his young marriage. Nor could he foresee how surrendering to temptation could cripple Bruce’s cause, forcing Eoin to blame his wife—and himself for trusting her.
Now, as Bruce prepares to challenge the resistance’s remaining strongholds, Eoin finally has his chance for revenge against the woman he once loved so fiercely and her entire clan. But when ferociously independent Margaret reveals a surprise that unites her with Eoin, neither of them will let their love go down without a fight.
Themes: historical, Scotland
Rating: 4.25 stars
Heat Rating: 
Review:
Finally we get another great story in the Highland Guard series.  I have been waiting it seems like forever for this next book and it definitely lives up to all the time I have spent waiting.  Monica has a way of dragging her readers into this world she has built that makes you feel like you are right there beside her characters, living their challenges and seeing their pain and heartbreak.  I have yet to read anything by Monica that I didn’t love and Striker’s story is no exception.  This story, like a previous one in the series, actually takes place in two different time periods with roughly a decade between, but the best part is that we get to watch Eoin and Margaret fall in love not just once, but twice.  Bringing together two enemies, a couple destined for disaster and seeing how they deal with their differences, once and for all, and tell the world they will be together despite those differences is beyond heartwarming.  If you haven’t read previous stories in this series you might miss a bit of the subtext here and there, but Monica’s skill is in making each story independent by providing the details you need and enticing you to go back and read the rest of the series.  I am sad to hear this series is ending after 2 more books, but it has been a great ride and I know whatever she comes up with next will also be a hit. 
Eoin and Maggie’s story is one that began almost a decade ago when two impetuous and unprepared young people fell into passion and young love.  They came together inexplicably in a time of war, even though their families were enemies and their political loyalties were split.  When the war really amps up, the true gap between them grows and Maggie is faced with ridicule and hate, as well as fear, in Eoin’s world.  Unwilling to face such adversity without support, she returns to her family and awaits her husband’s return, but when mistaken trust leads to tragedy their lives are forever torn apart.  Almost a decade later, Eoin returns to Maggie’s life and finds himself faced with a surprise of epic proportions as well as the heated desire that stills burns between them.  But can they forgive the betrayals and find a way to bridge the gap in order to have a future together or will their differences force them apart once and for all?
Margaret—Maggie to her friends—has had to find a way to be happy even though her heart still yearns for the husband she lost, even knowing that her betrayal was the reason he’s gone from her.  When she first gave into her desire for Eoin she thought she’d found her prince, the love of her life, and the man that would live at her side for all time.  But those youthful dreams are soon crushed under the weight of speculation, distrust, and hatred when she meets his family and clan.  Left alone in the midst of her enemies with no one on her side, Maggie tries her best to be a good wife, but the differences in her life become unbearable.  The way Maggie deals with her difficulties shows that she was an independent woman, well before her time, and IMO the real reason Eoin feel in love with her.  That fire and spunk serves her well when Eoin reappears and she is faced with the changes in the man she never stopped loving.  Working beside him on their mission we can see that she is no pushover, but when it comes to Eoin and her love for him she will push any boundary to get her HEA.  Definitely one of my favorite female characters in a while and one that shows that all you need to succeed and get your happy ending is the strength and bravery to go through, over, under or around whatever obstacles are thrown in your path. 
Eoin on the other hand is an arrogant ass through most of the story.  He’s so sure of his place in the world and demanding his recognition that he doesn’t see the damage he causes to those around him.  He is unable or unwilling to resist the pull to Maggie, though he does the right thing in a bad situation, making Maggie his wife to keep her from being overtly ostracized after their night of youthful passion.  Too bad that once he does that, he thinks that his responsibilities have been fulfilled.  It is obvious that he was NOT ready to be a husband, disregarding his wife’s wishes or fears for the most part, and leaving her to fend for herself with his family and clan.  Not to mention that he is flat our lying to her when he disappears on missions and into battle.  I appreciate the fact that he has his orders and cannot tell her the entire truth, but leaving her alone and surrounded by danger and derision is not a way for a husband to act.  The decade older Eoin wasn’t really much better, being a totally asshat when he uses Maggie to further his mission with a complete disregard for her feelings, even if he thought she had betrayed him so long ago.  Only after Eoin begins to come to terms with the mistakes he’s made in their relationship does the reader begin to see the promising side of Eoin showing that he really is a good man.  Thankfully in the end Eoin finds a way to accept that the past is over and move forward, forgiving both Maggie and himself for their mistakes and starting over with a clean slate. 
Overall, I have to say that I loved Striker’s story and it was a welcome addition to the series.  There were a LOT of tears in this story and the anguish was heartbreaking even just reading their sad story, but the love they have for one another keeps the sadness from overwhelming the characters and the readers in the end.  Eoin was a man that really needed to be brought down a peg or to, his arrogance leading to too many mistakes, but once he accepts that he’s just a man and needs the woman he loves by his side despite their differences, Eoin become the kind of man I would love to find for myself.  Maggie too is a bit brash in the beginning, coming from a family of males that has always spoiled her, but she quickly realizes that and tries to improve on her failings.  She learns that a single choice, even the simple mistake of speaking out of turn, can change worlds and cost lives, and that realization brings out the core of goodness and strength in her so she can develop into a truly great woman from the reckless girl she was.  The heat and intensity between these two is off the charts from the very beginning, even when they are simply looking at one another across the room they throw off enough heat for others to notice.   I thoroughly enjoyed seeing them find their way together and then back together as they fell in love with each other, first as youths and again as adults hardened by life.  Monica has struck gold once again and I cannot wait for the rest of the series. 

*eARC provided by publisher (via netgalley) for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided.

Friday, December 11, 2015

Review: Dead by Midnight: An I-Team Christmas (I-Team #7.5)

Dead by Midnight: An I-Team Christmas (I-Team #7.5)

by Pamela Clare 

Blurb:

Marc and Sophie Hunter, Gabe and Kat Rossiter, Holly Andris and the rest of the I-Team gang find themselves in the same historic Denver hotel celebrating the approach of Christmas at different holiday parties. What starts out as a fun winter evening with friends soon becomes a brutal fight to survive when the hotel is taken over by a group of ruthless narco-terrorists who will stop at nothing to get what they want.
On the outside, Julian Darcangelo, Zach McBride, Nick Andris and others join together with the FBI’s Hostage Rescue Team to free their friends, knowing that if they fail, the people they love will be…
Dead by Midnight.


Themes: Holiday, Contemporary, End of Series
Rating: 4.75  stars
Heat Rating: 
Review:
 When I heard Pamela announce that she would be doing a holiday novella to serve as the official end to the I-Team series my emotions was frankly mixed.  While I enjoy novellas as much as the next girl I just didn’t think she would accomplish her true greatness in so short a story, and of course I cried for a while learning that the series was ending. But I was also thrilled that we would get to see the couples that have come together again as lead characters.  I will warn that this is more of a recap and continuation, not a novella where a new couple comes together, and there are a lot of tears and fears coming in this short story.  I can honestly say I have not cried this hard, both happy and sad tears, in a good long while, the story was that emotional.  The beginning of the story leads the readers to think we are just going to get to see the couples, intimately, enjoying their love and then coming together to celebrate the holidays.  Then all hell breaks loose and Pamela gives her characters the ultimate test of love again and again.  The couples have to battle their way free of terrorists, find a way to keep each other and their friends alive, and still serve the greater good in their typical self-sacrificing way.  I am sorry to see this series end, but Pamela writes with such aplomb that you find yourself sending the characters off in hopes they are safe and happy for all time, as if they are good friends you are leaving behind as you move forward.  Thankfully we can always go back to visit and renew friendships with rereading and reliving their love stories.  You have been an inspiration to us all Pamela and there is no way that anything you write in the future won’t be an instant hit with your fans.  Keep up the awesome writing and I can personally guarantee a life-long fan in me.

*eARC provided by publisher (via netgalley) for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided.

Monday, December 7, 2015

Review: Wild Heat (Northern Fire #1)

Wild Heat (Northern Fire #1)

by Lucy Monroe 

Blurb:
Sometimes old flames are the hottest of all . . .

In the quaint little town of Cailkirn, Alaska, it's impossible to keep a secret, especially one as juicy as the unexpected return of Kitty Grant. Tack MacKinnon remembers her wild red curls and even wilder spirit—and still feels the sting from when she shattered his heart in college. But there's a pain in Kitty's gorgeous eyes that guts him to the core, and Tack is determined to do whatever it takes to see the woman he still loves smile again—even if it means taking on her demons as his own.
After fleeing an abusive ex-husband, Kitty decides that the best way to heal her broken heart is to come back home. But she gets a whole new shock when she sees how undeniably sexy Tack has become. More handsome, more muscular, more charming—more everything—he's impossible to resist. Before she knows it, they're reigniting sparks that could set the whole state of Alaska on fire. Yet trust doesn't come easy to Kitty anymore, and as things heat up between her and Tack, she can't help but wonder if one of them is going to get burned . . .
Themes: contemporary
Rating: 3.5 stars
Heat Rating: 
Review:
 An all new series by one of my favorite authors has arrived.  I love the premise of this series mainly because it is set in one of my all-time favorite places to read about and one that I am determined to visit someday, Alaska.  The series begins with a story of rekindled love between two former best friends.  The almost decade they have been apart has changed them both in some pretty drastic ways, but at the heart they are still made for one another if they can find a way to get past their hurts and fears.  I am a huge fan of Lucy Monroe and went into the story with really high expectations, which might have been the problem.  While I really enjoyed the story, there was little of the greatness I have always experienced with her writing.  I liked the characters well enough, but there just seemed to be an emotional disconnect for me and a little bit too much choppiness to the story to make their tale truly believable.  I am looking forward to the next in the story and hope to have a return to the expected level of loving it, but for long time Lucy fans, I warn you to not expect too much or you might end up disappointed.  That being said the story was complicated in a lot of emotionally dramatic ways so maybe the problem was that everything was just too intense. 
Caitlin “Kitty” Grant is returning to her small home town to lick her wounds and find herself again after an abusive relationship and battle with illness almost cost her life.  She knows there are lots of fences to mend, but seeing Tack MacKinnon her childhood best friend and the one person she most betrayed with bad choices in the past, rekindles a desire that she thought surely dead for good.  Tack never imagined Kitty would be returning to their small town, and never imagined she would be as wounded as she is.  When she kicked him to the curb 8 years earlier he put as much space between them as possible in hopes of protecting his heart from her, but seeing her again, battered but not broken, is heartbreaking and terrifyingly wonderful at the same time. When they can no longer resist the chemistry between them, falling into a sensual and wonderful affair, neither of them are really able to protect their hearts anymore.  But can they overcome the past that once tore them apart and find a way to survive the wild heat of their hearts?
What to say about Kitty… Kitty was an idiot. Ok maybe that’s too harsh, being that she was a young woman with serious issues, but pushing her best friend away for some controlling man left her with no one to fall back on when the world crashed.  She made some really bad decisions, but thankfully knew when to finally get the hell out of the relationship that almost killed her.  When she comes home she is determined to help herself and find a way back to normal, but her mistake again is in not sharing her fears and issues with those she loves.  Dealing with Tack and finding herself craving him at every turn gives her a sense that she is finally finding herself again as a woman, but it quickly becomes more than her fragile heart can handle.  As she returns to her old self, her spunky nature and determination bring her to face the fact that being Tack’s dirty little secret is just not enough for her.  I loved seeing her exploring her sensuality and standing up for what she wants, growth leading her to some pretty startling discoveries.  I wish the story had been a little longer, giving Lucy more time to share the baby steps of change, but the jump into love is sometimes unexplainably fast I guess. In the end I liked her more for embracing her vulnerabilities and fears enough to demand what she wants and deserves from her man.
Tack was an ass. I get that he had his heartbroken as a young man when the girl he loved pushed him away for another man, but running away with his tail between his legs and never bothering to check back on the girl he claimed to love was not cool.  Learning about the hardships of her life, Tack is understandably upset that Kitty was so abused, but it takes him way too long to come to terms with the simple fact that he could have helped, even as a friend, if he hadn’t been throwing a tantrum and burying his love for almost a decade.  It is obvious from both actions and words that Tack still cares about her, but he denies it at every turn, even using sex as an excuse for protecting Kitty from her own vulnerabilities.  But he isn’t able to take that final needed step of forgiveness until it is almost too late.  Sexy alpha males are a dime a dozen, but it is obvious to me that Tack is a really loving guy once he lets go of his hang-ups.  He does everything in his power to look out for those he cares about, even standing up to his own mother in an effort to comfort Kitty, but he withholds the most important part of him, his heart, out of fear, almost causing him to lose the girl he loves again to his own stubbornness.  But in the end he finds a way to love again and give her his all, maybe a little too quickly as things move from casual to committed in a heartbeat, which was odd to me.
Wild Heat is one of those stories where I love parts of it and the promise of the great story it could have been, but something just doesn’t click right as I read it.  Tack and Kitty were obviously made for one another, but the way they go about changing their relationship—which is already complicated by their past—was just too abrupt and seemed heartless to me.  I enjoyed seeing them embrace a physical relationship and don’t get me wrong those portions of the book were hot, but the emotion was missing for me a lot.   Tack seems heartless a good bit of the time, very closed off and unwilling to share himself, but overall seems to be a good guy.  He cares for those around him and is a good man in general, but when faced with any emotional turmoil he seems to shut down and use physical attraction and chemistry to put a distance between himself and Kitty.  Kitty too has a lot of issues which she needs to work through and I don’t think she worked through them enough in my opinion, instead compensating for them or pretending the issues weren’t there.  She does finally get some perspective and help, allowing the healing to continue which leads her emotions to be invested in her relationship with Tack, but it all happened too abruptly for me.  In the end, I think had the story been a little bit longer, with more emotional growth before the HEA it would have struck a deeper more emotional connection for me.  I am looking forward to the next story, hoping the connection and fire returns for me, and wondering if we will see more of Kitty and Tack.   Lucy remains one of my favorite authors, but this book was not one of my favorites of hers.


*eARC provided by publisher (via netgalley) for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided.

Thursday, December 3, 2015

Mini-review: Pia Does Hollywood (Elder Races #8.6)

Pia Does Hollywood (Elder Races #8.6)

by Thea Harrison 

Blurb:
After making a diplomatic pact with humankind and the other leaders of the Elder Races, Pia Cuelebre, mate to Dragos Cuelebre, Lord of the Wyr, reluctantly heads to Hollywood to spend a week with the Light Fae Queen, Tatiana, before the busy Masque season hits New York in December.
Dragos has never let the lack of an invitation stop him from doing anything he wanted. Unwilling to let his mate make the trip without him, he travels to southern California in secret to be with her.
But when an ancient enemy launches a shattering assault against the Light Fae, Dragos and Pia must intercede. The destruction threatens to spread and strike a mortal blow against all of the magically gifted, both human and Elder Race alike.
Working with the Light Fae to neutralize the danger, Dragos and Pia find their deepest vulnerabilities challenged and their most closely held secrets threatened with exposure.
Themes: dragons, shifter, magick, paranormal
Rating: 3.25 stars
Heat Rating:
Review:
 The second story in this trilogy of shorts is one that will have you groaning or thrilled depending on your stance on certain creatures that have become popular in recent years in the media.  Being not a fan, this story was one that had me groaning a lot, but overall I enjoyed it just the same. With reluctance, Pia Cuelebre is headed to Hollywood to visit with the head of the Light Fae in a diplomatic exchange, but no way in hell is Dragos letting his mate—his pregnant mate—out of his site for that long, so together, but apart, they travel to California.  When they arrive, things immediately begin to go awry and only their strength and love for one another will keep Dragos from becoming a monster and possibly decimating the entire world.  I loved seeing Pia stand by her man, even while others threatened to tear them apart.  She showed once again that as unconventional as their mating was they are definitely made for one another.  Dragos just wants to keep his mate safe and traveling with her seems the best way, but he never imagined he’d find himself in the middle of a takeover by zombie-like light Fae and the sorcerer converting them.  Watching him fighting for his life and sanity, while still protecting his wife and unborn child shows us just how deep his love and protectiveness goes, but the truly great thing is the way Pia’s optimism and determination to help others has slowly rubbed off on him.  This story was a great continuation though very short and I am looking forward to book three in the short series as well as the next full length novel. Another hit Thea.

*eARC provided by publisher (via netgalley) for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided.

Monday, November 30, 2015

Review: In the Company of Wolves (SWAT: Special Wolf Alpha Team #3)

In the Company of Wolves (SWAT: Special Wolf Alpha Team #3)

by Paige Tyler 

Blurb:
 He opened his mouth to order her to drop the MP5 she had aimed at him, but
nothing would come out. It was like she’d robbed him of the ability to speak. Shooting her wasn’t an option, though. And the idea of arresting her didn’t make him feel any better.
There's a new gang of criminals in town who are organized and ruthless in the extreme. When Eric Becker, along with the rest of the Dallas SWAT team, ends up in the middle of a shootout, he immediately senses werewolves-a lot of them. Turns out, the new bad guys are a pack of wolf shifters.
In a spray of gunfire, Becker comes face-to-face with the most gorgeous woman he's ever seen. Becker does the logical thing. He hides her and leaves the scene with the rest of his team.
Jayna Winston has no idea why that SWAT guy helped her, but she's glad he did. Ever since she and her pack mates got mixed up with those Eastern European mobsters, everything had pretty much fallen apart.
So what's a street-savvy thief like Jayna going to do with a hot alpha-male wolf who's a police officer?
Themes: wolves, shifters, paranormal
Rating: 3.75 stars
Heat Rating: 
Review:
The story of the sexy SWAT team of Dallas returns with an intriguing new glimpse of the way the men of this team find love in all the wrong places.  SWAT is a series that I was reluctant to start, mainly because it seemed way too out there, but as I read more I find that I like the characters and the series ARC more and more.  The first two stories were good and with each consecutive release they seem to be getting better, but Eric’s story is by far the best to date.  The action and drama that comes along with the nature of these characters lives and jobs can sometime overwhelm the romantic aspects of the stories, but all in all they balance out pretty well. Eric and Jayna have intense chemistry from the moment they meet, but it becomes obvious that Eric will have to risk his job as well as his life in order for him to have a chance with her.  Jayna has led an interesting life since the fateful night years ago when her true nature came to light after barely escaping a tragic end.  If you have missed the others in the series, you might just be a little lost as details on the underlying story are scarce in each story, but you can appreciate the story on its own pretty well.
Overall Eric and Jayna had a lot to work through personally and as a team in order for them to have a chance at love.  Being on opposite sides of the law being not the least of it.  Each of them learns more about their own natures as werewolves, most important being that together they make a killer alpha pair.  Eric is a sweet but strong guy that never believed in true love or mates until the intriguing she-wolf crosses his path during the course of a crime.  She is just too sexy to let her get caught, but tracking her down he knows that he will be risking his job and place in the pack, but he doesn’t seem to care.  Eric was the kind of sexy leader that would make a great pack alpha all on his own, which makes his determination to follow his pack leader—in most instances—all the more honorable.  Jayna has let herself and her friends be led down a deadly path, and the loyalty she feels to her alpha keeps her from running, but once he goes too far, it becomes up to her to keep herself and the lower level wolves safe.  She sees in Eric the determination and true alpha ways that once caused her to trust where she no longer does.  She begins to see that Eric is the perfect guy for her, even though he is stubborn and arrogant, because he again and again risks his personal safety and well-being for others weaker than him, just as an alpha should. I enjoyed seeing the sparking chemistry between these two and watching them circle each other until finally giving in to their desires.  The love that develops is one I can see being strong and true long into the future and the love for their new extended family is just as sweet and strong.  SWAT #3 was a welcome addition to the series and my bookshelves and I am looking forward to reading more about the team and seeing more and more of these sexy Alphas fall under the spell of The One.



*eARC provided by publisher (via netgalley) for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided.

Friday, November 27, 2015

Mini-Review: Dark Alpha's Claim (Reaper #1)

Dark Alpha's Claim (Reaper #1)

by Donna Grant

Blurb:
There is no escaping a Reaper. I am an elite assassin, part of a brotherhood that only
answers to Death. And when Death says your time is up, I am coming for you...
My whole existence is based on taking what Death wants. Born to eliminate Fae guilty of unforgivable crimes, my reckless, wild nature makes me the perfect assassin to carry out Death's bidding. I've seen more sinister and violent dealings than anyone could ever imagine. But it was the sight of her face that stopped me cold. I've never wanted a woman-never mind a human-so badly; never felt my heart, hardened by death, burn brighter and hotter until it burst into flames. She is everything I desire. The kind of woman that compels you to stake your claim on her, to let the world know that she's yours. A Reaper saving her life will only attract danger, but I vow to protect her at all costs from the Fae that hunt her, and keep safe the woman who has claimed me, body and soul.
Themes: Fae, Dragons, paranormal
Rating: 3.75 stars
Heat Rating: 
Review:
Another tale has spun from the imagination and world of Donna Grant and the greatness just keeps coming.  The new story about the long forgotten legendary Reapers, the boogey men of the Fae world come to life with a bang as the sweetest of the Reapers finds himself head over heels for a half-Fae woman.  The story of the reapers has been hinted at in the previous Dragon Kings story, but we never got all the information we wanted until Baylon and his team arrives.  The Reapers have been given an assignment that is impossible for them to follow and when the truth of their new enemy comes to light Baylon and his team find themselves fighting their most dangerous enemy--a former friend that knows their every move before they even make it.  Baylon is a sweet guy that is obviously in over his head with the emotions that Jordyn brings out and when she unleashes his passion there is no denying that he will give in to her, even at the risk of his own death.  Jordyn has always found the Fae fascinating, but recently the stories from her childhood have taken on a darker and deadlier existence as the Dark Fae have come out of the woodwork, killing hundreds of people in cities all over Scotland.  When Jordyn is saved from a Dark attack by a gorgeous sword-wielding Fae, she immediately feels a connection to him, one that she is unable to resist.  But the enemy after the Reapers sees Jordyn as the perfect revenge and quickly sets out to kill her, along with dozens of other half-Fae.  Though terrified and falling hard for Baylon, Jordyn is willing to risk her own life in order to help them defeat their enemies in hopes of keeping Baylon safe.  Her courage and willingness to defend her love makes her the perfect heroine and a match for Baylon's heroic nature in every way.  I enjoyed this story immensely even though it was much shorter than I would have liked.  I am looking forward to what happens next for the Reapers and of course seeing what role they will play in the war the Dragon Kings have undertaken.  Another interesting story Arc begins and I cannot wait to see where we are headed next.

*eARC provided by publisher (via netgalley) for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided.

Tuesday, November 24, 2015

Review: Too Hard to Handle (Black Knights Inc. #8)

Too Hard to Handle (Black Knights Inc. #8)

by Julie Ann Walker 

Blurb:

"The Man" is back
Dan "The Man" Currington is back in fighting form with a mission that takes him four thousand miles south of BKI headquarters, high in the Andes Mountains of Peru. He's hot on the trail of a rogue CIA agent selling classified government secrets to the highest bidder, when Penni DePaul arrives on the scene. Suddenly the stakes are higher, and keeping Penni safe becomes Dan's number one priority.
And this time she's ready
A lot has changed since former Secret Service Agent Penni DePaul last saw Dan. Now a civilian, she's excited about what the future might hold. But before she can grab onto that future with both hands, she has to tie up some loose ends-namely, Dan Currington, the man she just can't forget. And a secret that's going to change both their lives-if they can stay alive, that is.
Themes: contemporary
Rating: 4 stars
Heat Rating: 
Review:
Dan's story has come full circle bringing love back into his life and reminding us all that the heart has an infinite capacity for love and affection. Readers of this series have watched as Dan's life was almost lost when his beloved wife was killed pushing him into the darkness found at the bottom of a bottle, all the way through his battle to return to the light and find a way to continue to serve his country and live his life.  But when he met Penni in the previous novel we saw the spark in him come back for the first time in years.  Penni never knew just how important their time together in Malaysia was several months ago, but when she returns to Dan to have an important talk with him she never imagined she'd be pulled into his work as much as his arms.  Walker has an ability to tug on your heart just as much as your libido with characters that are as varied and intense as they are sweet and sassy. The story continues as the Black Knights find themselves facing new enemies and dealing with old threats.  I am really looking forward to the future stories in this series, but I can foresee an end in sight soon if we don’t bring in some fresh blood and new knights. *hint hint, nudge nudge*
Dan and Penni had their encounter a few months earlier when they were on assignment together in Malaysia, but Penni still desires and needs him in her life.  When she heads to BKI to find him, she instead learns he is on assignment in Peru and sets out to find him there.  Dan is beyond surprised, and slightly terrified, when Penni stumbles into the middle of his mission, placing herself in direct danger from a madman out to kill them all.  As they battle together and repeatedly succumb to the outrageously intense attraction between them, Dan and Penni both come to understand that their connection means more than anything either of them have felt in a while.  Unfortunately, when Penni learns of Dan's tragic past, she is unable to accept that she could ever fill the hole left behind by his beloved wife, even though she brings a little something extra to the table with her.  Now Dan really has his work cut out for him, proving to Penni that she owns him heart and soul, and finding a way for them to build a life together. 
Dan's tragedy and subsequent withdrawal from life scared both his friends and the readers that have followed his crisis of faith, but seeing him finally come to life as he comes to terms with his desire for Penni was beyond amazing.  Truly heartwarming, Dan's desire and affection for Penni ultimately brings him back to life.  Dan is a serious bad-ass in the field, but seeing Penni place herself in danger again and again brings up serious issues for him as he comes to terms with the fact that his love for Penni is just as or maybe even stronger than the love that he had for his beloved late wife.  Falling in love has never been so painful, but seeing her in danger reminds him that life is short and he needs to protect and claim his woman if he ever hopes to have a moments peace again.  The sweet and funny side of Dan is apparent in the banter between himself and Penni, as well as his interaction with his brothers and sisters in arms.  In the end Dan must dig deep to find every ounce of his strength and power to keep himself and Penni alive so they can have the future together they were destined for. 
Penni never knew that Dan was the one man that could dig deep into her heart and find a home that she could never eject him from.  She desired him from the first moment they met, but passion can be quenched without a woman falling in love...right?  Unable to deny her need to see him again, Penni throws herself into his path and unknowingly into the path of danger.  Determined to prove her worth to him, Penni works with him and his team to bring in a traitor while keeping everyone safe and sound.  But the best part is that the passion continues to burn hot and true between them, leading to some sexy and fun moments, even at the most inappropriate of times.  Penni has her own insecurities, sure, but her determination to have Dan and share a life with him leads to some interesting choices that force them both to face and deal with some very intense issues.  Her sassy mouth and sweet heart are a perfect foil for Dan's gruff sensuality and ability to sweep Penni up into the maelstrom of his passion and intensity. As the full truth of their future comes to light, Penni's stubbornness draws a line that I didn't agree with, but thankfully they are able to get past their fears to find their love and happiness.
Dan and Penni's story was one filled with anxiety, passion, regrets, and the beauty of love leading to rebirth. There are seldom stories that show the way a person can come back from rock bottom, where a man has truly lost all will to live, to find a way to love again and devote his life to his work and the woman that has captured his soul. Dan has found a way to do the almost impossible and giving his heart to Penni is the final step for him.  His connection to her has been obvious since their first meeting and while he never quit thinking of her, he never imagined she would slam back into his life like a chambered .45 and lead to so many changes in him.   Dan's sweetly silly moments have been few and far between, but Penni brings out the softer side of this hard-edged and deadly operator.  Penni, the kind of woman that never imagined she'd fall in love, has found herself softening as she falls in love with Dan deeper and deeper.  Her sassy mouth and deadly skill set are just what she needs to make her life with Dan and keep them both alive.  I cannot wait for the next story, which I assume with be Chelsea and Zoelner's story, one that has been hinted at for a little while now, and if so that one stands to be even hotter and more dangerous than Dan and Penni's story.  Walker strikes gold again with the operators and their allies as these men find their mates and give their hearts in the ultimate war, the battle of the heart.

*eARC provided by publisher (via netgalley) for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided.

Saturday, November 21, 2015

Mini-Review: Dragos Goes to Washington (Elder Races #8.5)

Dragos Goes to Washington (Elder Races #8.5)

by Thea Harrison 

Blurb:
 Dragos Cuelebre, Lord of the Wyr, needs to throw a party without maiming anyone.
That isn’t exactly as easy as it might sound.
After the destructive events of the last eighteen months, the Elder Races are heading to Washington D.C. to foster peace with humankind. Not known for his diplomacy skills, Dragos must rely on his mate Pia to help navigate a battlefield of words and polite smiles rather than claws. With Dragos’s mating instinct riding close to the surface, his temper is more volatile than ever and the threat of violence hovers in the air.
Then the human spouse of a prominent politician winds up murdered and Dragos and Pia must race against time to hunt down those behind it before they are held responsible for the crime.
Themes: dragons, shifters, paranormal
Rating: 3.5 stars
Heat Rating: 
Review:
 I love these little teaser trilogies that Thea Harrison has shared with us to keep us in suspense of upcoming novels.  This is actually the second round of such trilogies of short stories revolving around the leaders of the Were Demesne, Dragos and Pia Cuelebre, and their son Liam.  Those who have not read the series will probably be a little bit lost, but the story is still cute and gives enough backstory that you can enjoy it.  This story revolves around Pia and Dragos's trip to DC to schmooze with the human government officials that have been both pro and con on the issues of the Others.  While determined to put on a good show, Pia has made life much more difficult for Dragos, deciding it was time to expand their family and sending them both into a very distracting mating heat.  The laughs and sensuality between this husband and wife is by turns sidesplitting and libido-singeing.  When their first foray into Washington politics goes badly awry, Dragos has to think on his feet to keep their friends from becoming enemies and their enemies from starting world war 3. I enjoyed every second of this short story and am looking forward to the next story where Pia travels to Hollywood to liaise with the queen of the light elves. Once these three stories end we have a big story coming soon that I imagine will change a lot for these people.  Thea Harrison continues to amaze me with her imagination and writing skill and I am dying for more. Keep up the great work Thea and you will always have a fan in me.  
*eARC provided by publisher (via netgalley) for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided.

Note:
Dragos Goes to Washington is the first part of a three-story series about Dragos, Pia, and their son Liam. Each story stands alone, but fans might want to read all three in order as they will be released: Dragos Goes to Washington, Pia Does Hollywood, and Liam Takes Manhattan. (less)

Wednesday, November 18, 2015

Review: Family Values (Lone Star Lovers #8)

Family Values (Lone Star Lovers #8)

by Delilah Devlin 

Blurb:
When coming between three brothers, it's best to just let go.
Angelina Flores lived a perfect ranch-kid childhood, complete with three princes on horseback who treated their housekeeper's daughter like a princess. At age eighteen, the fairytale came crashing down when she realized she had to choose between Brand, Nate and Eli McAffee.
And when she did choose one she lost all three.
She's older now. Wiser, thanks to her college education and a few years distance. A distance she'd planned to maintain until her mother begs her to fill in at the ranch while she takes care of a sick relative.
The minute her boots hit the front porch, the memories come flooding back, right along with the hunger. It's tough to put the past behind her when temptation is so close. Especially since the brothers seem bound and determined to woo her. Separately. Together. Whatever it takes to keep her right where she belongs in their arms.
Warning: Three cowboys all aiming for the same goal, and one woman with the cajones to give it to them or wipe the floor with their butts, if necessary.
Themes: erotic, ménage
Rating: 3.5 stars
Heat Rating: 
Review:
 Ok so to be honest I have only read the first book in this series, but when I had the option to grab this story I couldn't resist.   Delilah Devlin has been a favorite author of mine for the short and sexy stories that she produces.  She can make even the shortest story totally sensual and make the reader fall in love with her characters quickly.   This story revolves around three brothers that have been in love with the same young woman for a LONG time and they have finally tricked her into coming back into their lives so they can show her how much they desire and love her.  Angel left her home and the men she loved after being humiliated and shamed by giving herself to one of them in youthful passion. Unable to resist her mother's plea to return home and care for them when she has to take a break to care for family, Angel never imagined she'd find herself confronted with three men that have decided she won't be getting away from them ever again.  Seeing the changes in the relationships in their little town, Brand, Nate, and Eli have decided that a traditional relationship isn't what they want.  Instead they will embrace the unorthodox and share the woman of their dreams making them a family once again.  Each of them has their own appeal for Angel and the sensuality each brings to their relationship leaves Angel floundering.  Brand with his intense and brooding love, his deep need to protect and his alpha tendency to take over provided a safe place for Angel and make her want to give him her heart.  Nate's laughter and silliness keep Angel from forgetting to enjoy the lighter side of love and the fun that can be had when you share your joys with others.  And Eli is the sweet and loving softhearted guy that she has always needed to balance her life.  Together the four of them could cause a brush fire to burn down their world, but coming together in love will give them a chance at a future.  Another fun and sexy read, with heart, which left me wishing the story was longer. 

*eARC provided by publisher (via netgalley) for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided.

Sunday, November 15, 2015

review: Falling Under (Ink & Chrome #2)

Falling Under (Ink & Chrome #2)

by Lauren Dane

Blurb:
New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Lauren Dane delivers the second book in her dark, gritty and romantic Ink & Chrome series
Duke Bradshaw, co-owner of the custom motorcycle shop Twisted Steel, is great with his hands and not afraid to get dirty . . . especially in his fantasies about his redheaded neighbor Carmella Rossi.
Carmella has been secretly lusting after her hot, tattooed neighbor for the last three years. His gravelly voice combined with the throaty purr of his custom bike never fails to send thrills down her spine. When Duke asks her to join him at the shop, she can't say no. Soon their days together spill over into nights that bring her pleasure beyond anything she imagined. But Carmella grew up with bikers, and knows how bad a bad boy can be. Can she put herself at risk for someone who has heart-breaker written all over him?
Themes: Contemporary, Bikers
Rating: 4.5 stars
Heat Rating:
Review:
Longtime fans of Lauren Dane are in for quite a treat as we return to the sexy, hard-edged world of bikes, tattoos and crazy relationships.  I have enjoyed many different series by Dane over the years, but consider myself really fortunate to have had the chance to read these stories.  The second installment is no less emotionally stripped than the first in the series, with lots of family drama, terrifying truths revealed and the intense relationship between two passionate individuals.  I loved seeing Duke meet his match in Carmella even though he definitely made a few bonehead moves that almost cost him the love of his life, but in the end they found a way to get past everything between them to come together in a truly loving and lasting relationship.  Dane' ability to bring together two people that are so very different on the outside and prove to readers that all you really need is love, is beyond measure and keeps us coming back for more.  I am really looking forward to the next story in the series--though I understand it will be veering a bit from the mainstream with a Ménage relationship for Mick.  If you enjoy a great, sexy, and emotional drama The Ink and Chrome series is right up your alley, especially if you like a bit of kink along the way to go with the love and devotion. 
Duke has been watching the sweet and sexy woman that is his neighbor for a couple of years now and when an opportunity to get her to spend more time with him comes up he jumps at it.  Carmella is reluctant to take the job as her beyond gorgeous neighbor's shop manager, but the draw of a steady paycheck and fulfilling new opportunity is enough to trick her into believing she can keep herself away from him--after all he doesn’t seem to want her in anything more than a professional way, right? Wrong! As Carmella and Duke spend more time together, both at work and at home, the mutual attraction proves too intense for resistance.  Unfortunately, Carmella’s personal life has just gotten infinitely more complicated and emotionally devastating.  Can Duke stand by her and convince her to lean on him or will her stubborn insistence on independence push away the only man she has ever loved?
So what to say about Duke?... well first I have to say he is so freaking sexy there is really no way to describe him.  Tattoos cover his body, but not enough to hide the muscles, gorgeous skin, or the sexy eyes that follow Carmella's every move.  He is all man, proven again and again as he makes stupid mistakes out of his concern; there were enough bonehead moments that I found myself looking to the heavens for the patience not to want to kill him for Carmella, but thankfully he pulls his head from his butt and becomes her white knight.  He is the type of guy that makes the best hero; with enough flaws to keep him from being boring and the infinite sweetness that proves he will be a good husband, and maybe father, to his future family.  When Carmella needs him, whether she wants to admit it or not, he is right there to protect and defend, even if all she needs is just to know he is there for her if she needs him.  His unyielding support in the end is what pushes Carmella right into love with him, IMO, but the sexy and fun nature he hides behind his brooding and protective outer shell could have a bit to do with it too.  And of course the way he stands together with his brothers, brothers formed by the darkest of pasts, is another big point in his favor.
Carmella is an interesting woman and one that has never really been able to spread her wings and try to fly.  She has been the one caring for her mother for most of her life, being the adult and parent more than her mother ever was and never getting a single real thanks for it.  Her inner strength and ability to care for those that obviously don't appreciate all she does could have made her seem like a sucker, but she is willing to stand up for herself and what she believes in when push comes to shove.  Her interactions with her parent(s) and the way she stands up to Duke when he's being a douchbag show the backbone she covers with sweetness and sensuality is made of titanium and unbendable.  I enjoyed seeing her find a way to bring Duke to his knees and show him that love and trust are the ultimate gifts.  She was gentleness to his fiercely protective nature, but she wasn't a woman to be cowed in the face of adversity.  I loved the way she was able to find ingenious ways to bring Duke to his knees while still lifting him up.  Carmella is a girl after my own heart. 
In the end this story brings to life its title as each of these two headstrong and amazing individuals find themselves falling under love's spell. Duke and his ass-hattery thankfully find a way to convince Carmella he’s worth the trouble and to give him a chance to become the man she needs in every way.  Duke is an amazing guy, though by no means perfect, and when he is at his best there are very few men that compete with him for Carmella's heart.  Carmella has had a rough life and she has issues with trusting in men or giving them the chance to really capture her heart. When she is confronted with the immense force that is Duke she will not be able to stop herself from falling in love with him.  Carmella and Duke were a perfect match once they got over there issues and decided that being together was more important that their hang-ups.  Not to be discounted is the burning passion and attraction they have been fighting from a distance and try to keep from overwhelming them, even though they fail miserably (or happily).  I cannot wait for the next in the series and wonder if there will be more after that, but Mick's tale has been long in the making and to finally find out the truth and see him find love will be immensely awesome. Dane has done it again and there is no denying that Ink and Chrome will fill my heart and mind for a long time to come.


*eARC provided by publisher (via netgalley) for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided.

Friday, November 13, 2015

Mini-Review: Wicked Edge (Realm Enforcers #2)

Blurb:
Daire Dunne is more than ready to take a quick break from his duties as a Coven Nine Enforcer. When he spots a sexy blonde across a Titan’s of Fire party, it’s not long before she’s on the back of his Harley on the fast track to his apartment. Unfortunately, one overheated kiss in, the woman drugs Daire and steals valuable files that can’t fall into enemy hands. The second he comes to, the hunt is on...
Now that Cee Cee has the information to take down an enemy that destroyed her family, she can implement her perfect plan for revenge. Nothing will stop her, not even a shockingly sexy enforcer barging into her life. Not even the spectacular, fire-branding sex engulfing them. But if Daire ever figures out who her family really is, all bets are off...
Themes: Vampires, Demons, Witches, Paranormal
Rating: 4.5 stars
Heat Rating: 
Review:
 The world of the Dark Protectors continues to expand as we learn more and more about the evils plaguing the witches and their allies while falling in love with more and more Dunne family members.  This spin-off series keeps me coming back, proving to be as entertaining and sensual as the original series.  The witches have their own unique issues coming to a head, but for sure their allies continue to be involved in keeping them safe and causing them drama.  Those fans of the Dark protectors’ series will be surprised by Cee Cee's intensity and will find Daire's relationship with her beyond hilarious.  Though there is a lot of darkness and anger in this series, Zanetti's writing greatness and her ability to make her characters comes to life keeps the story from becoming depressing.  Daire is witty and sarcastic while also being deadly and sensual; his interactions with Cee Cee as they find outrageous obstacles in their path show true heart while being wonderfully sweet and sexy.  Cee Cee on the other hand has got some real issues with her past it is time to come to terms with, despite her determination to accomplish her mission she finds herself falling for the crazy and enchanting witch that she used to further her goals.  The way that Cee Cee and Daire keep finding themselves in impossible situations and always seem to find their way out, while keeping one another safe and also kicking serious ass and taking down their enemies makes the story lively for sure.  They each use their skills to the best of their abilities, but prove that coming together to form a team is the best way to really win their battles.  For new readers I will promise you enjoy this story all on its own, but can guarantee that if you take the time to go back and read the previous stories you will fall in love with this series like so many of us have. I'm looking forward to whoever's story comes next and learning where the world of the Allies will be going next.

*eARC provided by publisher (via netgalley) for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided.

Tuesday, November 10, 2015

Review: Passion Ignites (Dark Kings #7)

Passion Ignites (Dark Kings #7)

by Donna Grant 


Blurb:

He consumed her with that kiss, leaving no question that whatever was happening between them was meant to be—that it had always been meant to be…
HE LOVES FOR ETERNITY

Thorn is the bad boy of the Dragon Kings, a gorgeous, reckless warrior whose passions run wild and fury knows no bounds. When he sees the brave, beautiful Lexi being lured into the Dark Fae’s trap, he has no choice but to rescue her from a fate worse than death. But by saving this tempting mortal, he exposes himself to his fiercest enemy—and darkest desires. As the war between Dragons and Fae heats up, so does the passion between Lexi and Thorn. And when love is a battlefield, the heart takes no prisoners…
SHE LIVES FOR VENGEANCE

Lexi is on a mission of justice. Every day, she searches for the monster who murdered her friend. Every night, she hides in the shadows and plots her revenge. But the man she seeks is more dangerous than she ever imagined. He is one of the Dark Fae who preys on human life, who uses his unearthly power to seduce the innocent, and who is setting a trap just for her. Nothing can save Lexi from a creature like this—except the one man who’s been watching her every move…

Themes: Dragon Shifters, Magic, Fae, Paranormal
Rating: 4 stars
Heat Rating: 
Review:

Here there be Dragons! (Sorry, couldn't resist) Anyways... The sexy Dragon Kings are back and the story continues in a big way with Thorn and Lexi finding love in the most unexpected of situations.  If you are a fan of the series I don't have to tell you that the war is mounting and we are seeing a new side to many of these beloved characters while meeting new deliciously gorgeous Kings as they waken to join their brethren in a battle long awaited.  The overall story arc has become more and more complicated with each consecutive story and Thorn's tale brings even more drama and danger to their world.  I was surprised by the way many characters came to terms with actions in this story as well as the changes in their personality.  And of course we are all still waiting on pins and needles to discover what the future holds for Rhi and the identity of her Dragon King lover. I am looking forward greatly to the next in the series and continue to hope that the torture to find out the secret won’t be too long in coming. 

Thorn has just recently awakened so we haven't learned a lot about him, but as his story unfolds and we learn more about him it becomes apparent that he's a great guy and will make a wonderful  mate for Lexi.  Lexi has been on the hunt for the "Red Eyes" that killed her best friend, but it has placed her directly in the path of the Dark Fae that she has been stalking.  Thankfully Thorn is on the job and soon he has to face the fact that the draw he feels for her is more than just his innate desire to protect humans.  As they work together to defeat their joint enemies and Lexi learns Thorn's secret the passion between them become undeniable and love quickly develops. 

Thorn turns out to be a really interesting character.  Though he has only recently rejoined the world he is a staunch believer in the King's responsibility to protect the human world from the Dark that has invaded, and he relishes each chance to kill his enemies.  When Lexi stumbles into a world she is completely unprepared for, Thorn is determined to keep her safe even as she resists.  His sexiness is undeniable and there is no way that he will be able to keep his hands off of her, but his true greatness is his unwillingness to ever let any danger find Lexi.  Lexi on the other hand is crazy as hell and needs to have some sense knocked into her head, which thankfully Thorn manages to do.  She begins her quest to find her friend's killer with noble intentions, but she has no idea what she is truly in for, even though she is very determined.  When she finally learns the truth her bravery is unparalleled and the way she fights to save her life and protect Thorn is wonderful.  Lexi turns out to be a great character in the end, once she understands she's not going to be able to defeat her enemy with her strength only with her smarts.  The combination of Thorn's determination and Lexi's disregard for her safety make them a perfect counterpoint to one another and show that sometimes opposites attracting can lead to the biggest and brightest explosions. 

Passion Ignites is a story of two people with the same goal and totally opposite ways of operating in life coming together to accomplish a goal and in the end finding that the greatest mission in life is finding love for life. The story has developed into a truly complicated and convoluted overall arc and I am really looking forward to what comes next in this series.  Thorn is a good man, even though he's a millennia old Dragon shifter, and he has finally found the woman that will capture his heart.  He is determined to keep the humans safe and when he finds Lexi he takes on her mission for himself.  He is sexy, smart, sweet, and strong and there is no way that he is going to allow her to continue on her own.  Once Lexi comes to her senses she becomes more interesting.  I enjoyed seeing her stand up for herself and find a way to defeat enemies so much more deadly than her.  The desire and love between these two develops quickly but will be lasting.  Getting to see previous couples as well was very interesting and the ending with multiple matings was awesome.  I continue to fluctuate on my feelings about Constantine and Ulrick, but I think in the end they are more alike than either of them would like to admit, neither all good nor all bad, but living somewhere in the grey in between. Rhi's secrets and the changes in her soul continue to leave me panting for future stories and I can only hope Grant runs out of Kings soon so we can finally learn the identity of her lover and find out if she will find her way back to serenity.

*eARC provided by publisher (via netgalley) for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided.