Wednesday, February 8, 2017

Mini ARC Review: Barefoot Dreams (Barefoot Bay Undercover #4)

Barefoot Dreams (Barefoot Bay Undercover #4)

by Roxanne St. Claire

Blurb:
 A wedding day in Barefoot Bay is always joyous and exciting, but when the groom is none other than superspy bad boy Gabriel Rossi, the frenzy factor is high. Maybe that's the reason his beloved bride-to-be, Lila Wickham, wakes on her wedding day in a cold sweat from a bad, bloody dream.

As much as she wants to wipe away the memory and focus on the happiest day of her life, it soon becomes apparent that the dream heralds unhappiness—and tragedy. Terrified but determined, Lila knows she only has hours to take action against the daunting odds facing her son. But she's not alone anymore—she has Gabe at her back. And when it comes to defending the people he loves, there's no one fiercer than Gabe Rossi.

One single day, one embattled couple—one last shadow to dispel before they become the family they were always meant to be.
Themes: Contemporary, Novella/Epilogue 
Rating: 3.75 stars
Heat Rating: 

Review:
Gabe is BACK! 
Okay, so for those of you not familiar with Rocki’s work, that might not mean much to you, but for those of us that have been fans for years and have followed Gabe as he popped up randomly in different stories and series through familial connections, Gabe’s HEA is a very important matter.  Gabe and his Lila have had a REALLY tough time reaching their HEA, along with their son Rafe, and when I heard we were going to be getting a chance to see their wedding as its very own novella my joy knew no bounds.  The story is a short one, but we get too see all of Gabe’s family, couples that came together in previous reads as well as learning tidbits about their lives now.  And of course the infamous and fabulous Uncle Nino is back on the scene cooking his Italian favorites and keeping his large family in line.  The story had lots of action as Lila and Gabe rush through disaster after disaster, trying to keep their son safe, on the way to the alter and ultimately finding a way, together, to make sure that nothing mars their happy day.  Gabe is always the sexy, dirty mouthed bad boy that we all have fallen in love with, but we also get to see another, sweeter side of him as he deals with his 5-year old son Rafe and the shenanigans that only Gabe Jr could find himself caught in.  Lila is sweet, funny, and a little bit scattered as she races to make it to her big happy ending, but thankfully they are able to get everyone safely through the day and find a way to get to the altar. I loved seeing this little glimpse of this new family, as well as all the other characters that have been my friends the last few years, not just from Barefoot Bay, but also from Gabe’s large family.  I am hoping that we will see more of his family now that he has settled into wedded bliss on Barefoot.  I understand that the next few stories in the Barefoot World will be coming soon and like the last small trilogy, will focus on the second chances that sometimes come along for the silver foxes in the world.  As always I thank Rocki for her hard work and imagination in writing Gabe and Lila’s happy ending and of course for the chance to read it ahead of the publication.  Keep the magic alive Roxanne!

*eARC provided by author for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided.

Wednesday, February 1, 2017

ARC Review: Sinful Scottish Laird (Highland Grooms #2)

Sinful Scottish Laird (Highland Grooms #2)

by Julia London

Blurb:
A young widow puts her sexy suitors to the test in New York Times bestselling author Julia London's scintillating return to the idyllic Scottish Highlands.
Widowed and forced to remarry in three years' time or forfeit her son's inheritance, Daisy Bristol, Lady Chatwick, has plenty of suitors vying for her hand and her fortune. But a letter from a long-lost love sends Daisy and her young son to her Scottish Highland estate to buy time for his return. Along the way she encounters the powerful Cailean Mackenzie, laird of Arrandale and a notorious smuggler, and she is utterly and unwillingly bewitched.
Cailean has no use for any Sassenach in his glen. But Daisy's brazen, flirtatious nature and alluring beauty intrigue him. When her first love appears unexpectedly at her estate, Cailean knows that a passionate woman like Daisy cannot marry this man. And to prevent the union, Cailean must put his own life at risk to win her heart.
Themes: historical  
Rating: 3.75 stars
Heat Rating: 
Review:
 Returning to the Highlands, amid the treachery, scandal, and dangerous time of Rebellion, Julia London brings us the second in her Highland Grooms series.  This story comes many years after the ending of the first story and actually follows the oldest son of the couple from book one, Cailean Mackenzie.   I was a bit surprised when I realized this would be Cailean’s story, but it was a happy surprise in the end.  I enjoyed getting to know Cailean, even if a good majority of the time he was being a typically stubborn Scottish ass and seeing Daisy find herself despite all the weights on her shoulders, whiel  the expectations of society reminded me that some women just can’t be kept down. Daisy and her son, along with some extended family, have come to Scotland to escape the money grubbing suitors that have graced her halls ever since her late husband put her on the marriage block upon his death.  She waits for her first love to return to her and in the meantime has no use for the men that surround her, until she meets the riveting and sensual Cailean Mackenzie. Cailean is beyond irritated that an Englishwoman has encroached on his solitude in his little corner of their family lands and wants nothing more than to see her gone, especially since the last Englishwoman he gave his heart too obliterated it.  Cailean tries to stay away from the slightly crazy but stunningly beautiful and sweet Daisy, but the pull is too strong and he soon finds himself facing the truth that he will have to release the woman he has come to love if they are either to have a chance at happiness.  Cailean was a bit of an ass through a good bit of the story, but then again most stubborn Scottish men share that trait—even to this day—and the alpha males are even worse.  As he slowly began to lose his heart to Daisy, the walls he built around himself made me feel sorry for him, knowing that he was letting past hurts and fears keep him from claiming the woman he loves—not to mention the little boy that has stolen his heart.  Daisy has done everything she can to make a decision that will allow her some happiness at the same time as giving her son what he needs to be happy and to thrive.  She thought her long lost love was the answer to that hope, until she meets Cailean and begins to wonder if perhaps the brash and bold Scot is the man of her dreams. 
I loved getting to know Daisy and Cailean, even if I was exasperated with their stubborn unwillingness to see what was right in front of them the whole time.  Daisy was definitely a woman well before her time, asserting her independence in a time when women the world over (for the most part) were treated simply as property of the men in their lives.  She was once forced into a marriage of duty, instead of marrying her love, but now that she is older and wiser there is no way she will marry anyone that doesn’t love her.  But in the meantime there’s nothing to keep a young, vital widow from having a little fun with a big burly Scot, now is there?  Daisy has a passionate nature and refuses to hide it from herself or Cailean, determined that he will be her lover, but she certainly never planned to fall in love with him.  Cailean likewise is taken aback by the passion and sensuality of this wild English flower and her sometimes inappropriate behavior.  He knows that she is trouble, but the more time he spends with her and her son, the deeper he finds himself sinking into the quicksand he saw around them but was unable to avoid.  He wants nothing more than to take Daisy to his bed, especially since she seems to understand it can never be more than physical between them; however in the end he is sunk and gives his heart to her.   Even their love doesn’t seem to be enough to overcome the dangers and obstacles surrounding them, until some sage advice from his father finally brings Cailean to the conclusion that the matters of the heart will always be more important than any others he faces and only with the love of his life by his side will he ever be happy.
Duty or Love seems to be the common problem that faced both Cailean and Daisy, much like other couples during that time in our history.  The Scottish Rebellion was a long-fought and bloody battle, that left many families without their men as well as without their lands, but stories like these remind us all that even in the bloodiest and most tragic of times, there was still love and life went on for these people despite the trauma and tragedy.  London’s skill at bringing these histories back into the minds and hearts of readers and showing us the sweeter side of those times, is nothing short of amazing and an important task for a writer to undertake.  So many authors gloss over the darkness of history, focusing simply on the frivolousness of the society and ignoring the soldiers, warriors, and common men that were the most important of that time, but London brings everyone back to the most important realization—history was made by the people, all the people, that lived through those times, and none should be made to be forgotten or ignored.  Daisy and Cailean had a rough time finding their footing together and building a life was sure to be even more difficult, but their love was strong enough to overcome everything and give them a chance to truly become a family. Cailean was a protective, sexy, and sweet warrior that needed only to be reminded that sometimes love comes in the most unlikely of packages and if you overlook it, your life will never be a filled with color or vibrancy as if you had given your heart away. Daisy was a kickass heroine, once she finally came to see the men around her for what they truly were and stood up to them for the sake of her son and also for her own heart.  Love Cailean was no easy trail for Daisy, but the joy at the end when he finally gave his heart to her made all the pain and sadness along the way worth it.  I cannot wait for the next story in the series, Hard-Hearted Highlander, which will revolve around Cailean’s younger brother Rabbie and his own bumpy road to happiness.  If you like a good historical romance, with some subterfuge, danger, and passion, Sinful Scottish Laird is the perfect way to get your next fix.  Thanks for the magic Julia.

*eARC provided by author for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided.

Sunday, January 22, 2017

Review: Viking Warrior Rebel (Viking Warriors #2)

Viking Warrior Rebel (Viking Warriors #2)

by Asa Maria Bradley

Blurb:
 She can't let him discover...
Immortal Vikings are among us
Astrid Irisdotter is a Valkyrie-a fierce warrior fighting to protect humanity from the evil god Loki and his brutal minions. She's on an urgent mission for her queen when everything goes hideously sideways. Undercover agent Luke Holden arrives on the scene just in time to save her life-and put his own on the line.
Luke may have saved her, but that doesn't mean Astrid can trust him. Tempers flare as they hide secret upon secret from each other, but Astrid's inner warrior knows what it wants...and it will not take "no" for an answer.
Themes: paranormal, Norse mythology
Rating: 3.75 stars
Heat Rating: 
Review:
Ok so let’s be honest, there just aren’t that many series out there that are about Viking warriors in modern America kicking ass against killer minions of the god Loki, but then again there just aren’t that many readers out there that have the interest in all things pagan and historical.  Thankfully there is at least one author out there that is willing to give me a little something special to read.  This is only the second story in the series of course, but I can honestly say it has been very interesting and I cannot wait to read more of these stories.  Ms. Bradley’s series is a wonderful addition to any readers’ shelf and I cannot wait to see where she takes us next. Astrid is a Valkyrie, an ancient warrior class of women, embraced by the queen of the Norse gods, Freya, and she is tired of kicking her own ass for her screw-up. Her last missions didn’t go quite as planned, but she is determined to save her new Queen’s brother to make up for the mistakes.  Luke has been drawn to Astrid from the very beginning, but now that she has become the center of his investigation he knows that he has to resist her allure.  Luke has been after the people that imprisoned and experiments on him and his brother when they were kids, and now he is close to the truth, but that truth could tear apart the beginning of their new relationship.   Astrid is the type of woman that all of us should aspire to be; beautiful, brave, sexy, and strong, and I enjoyed getting to know her and seeing the vulnerability that she hides so well. Luke was a bit of an ass through the majority of this book, hiding his true intentions even as he pulls Astrid deeper and deeper into the danger surrounding them. Thankfully once they both admit to their true natures and intentions, they are able to finally admit the feelings that have bound them together. I enjoyed the action and of course the myths that are some of my personal favorites in this world. The passion between Astrid and Luke is a conflagration every moment they are together and the reader is pulled into the heat right along with the lovers.  I cannot wait to see what story comes next and what deadly Norsewarrior—or warrioress—loses their heart to their one true mate.  Ms. Bradley has certainly captured my attention and I know that this series will be giving readers pleasure long into the future.  

*ebook provided by publisher (via netgalley) for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided.

Wednesday, January 18, 2017

Review: Lethal Game (Red Stone Security #15)

Lethal Game (Red Stone Security #15)

by Katie Reus 

Blurb:
Read the action-packed finale of the USA Today bestselling Red Stone Security series!
He broke her heart.
Graysen’s betrayal nearly destroyed Isa a year ago. Now that she’s working for Red Stone Security, she’s managed to piece her life back together after a rough year and a broken heart. Then he appears back in her life and makes it clear he’s not going anywhere until she gives them a second chance. A chance she refuses to take.
Now he’s back to claim what’s his.
Graysen’s never gotten over Isa and he knows he never will. It’s his fault she walked away, but he can’t seem to let her go. He quit his job with the CIA and called in every favor he had to get hired by Red Stone Security just to be near her again. But Isa doesn’t care that he’s desperate to make things right between them—she wants nothing to do with him. He doesn’t blame her, but he’s not willing to give her up. When they’re cornered by lethal terrorists, everything changes. Graysen and Isa will have to find a way to work together if they want to survive. Only then will he be able to convince her to claim the chance at happiness the past stole from them.
Themes:  contemporary, series ending
Rating: 4.5 stars
Heat Rating:  
Review:
The end of an amazing series has sadly finally arrived for readers. Lethal Game marks the end of Katie Reus's Red Stone Security series, an adventure that began 12 books and several years ago with a love story that has lasted through the entire series. Luckily Reus knows her readers well and gave us not only a heartfelt love story to end the series, but also some interesting side stories and an amazingly fulfilling epilogue that shows us all of the couples through the years and where they are now in their lives. If you haven't read the series, while you will still enjoy this Die Hard-esque story and the couples that claim their love, I can honestly say you won’t understand the true greatness that is the Red Stone family unless you go back and read from the beginning; so go buy them! With that shameless bit of advertising done, let's talk about this story.
Graysen has arrived at Red Stone determined to win back the love of his life, Isabella, after Isa ran from him almost a year earlier.  They came together under some pretty unfortunate circumstances and I don’t blame Isa a bit for running, but she still loves him and that's obvious every moment they are interacting. Flung together on a new operation, Isa is determined to get her job done without allowing Graysen back into her life, much less into her heart.  But once Isa learns the full truth of what really caused Graysen to break her heart, she realizes she's never stopped loving him.  Sadly before she can really accept this change of heart and get her man, their operation explodes into a life threatening situation that could separate them forever. 
Graysen is a great character, even though he definitely has some flaws, but that's what makes him such a good protagonist. He knows he screwed up with Isa, lying to her, and his love may not be enough to prove to her he is the man for her, but he's not going to let those doubts keep him from trying.  Isa is a woman after my own heart, willing to put her life on the line for others as well as the greater good.  She was hurt badly by the tragedy that brought Graysen into her life, but when confronted with the full truth and learning that Graysen protected her from a lot more pain, she accepts the truth that she never stopped loving him and goes after her man full speed ahead.  Kicking terrorist ass as they work together to stay alive, the heat between them is nothing compared to the obvious love they share. 
Secondarily, another couple also finally admitted their feelings for one another.  Carlito and Emerson have been circling one another for a while now and we finally get to see them give in to their desire and admit that they are made for one another. I thoroughly enjoyed their story as well, even knowing that their relationship was the final loose end and that the Red Stone series was truly over.  Both Emerson and Carlito are amazing--funny, sweet, loving, protective, and just the perfect amount of smartass.
With the HEAs of these two, the series comes to an end with high impact action, life and death danger, and the ultimate forgiveness and trust between two couples that are perfect together. Lethal Game is one of those stories that are much greater than its parts. Graysen and Isa are made to be, even if she has fought their love and connection for the past year, and Carlito and Emerson have finally come to the time where they will no longer deny their feelings for one another.  I enjoyed immensely seeing these two couples come together in love and also to kick serious butt against the terrorists trying to kill them, but the best part of the book for me was the epilogue, to be sure.  We get to see all the previous couples congregating and sharing their love and family connection.  Getting to see who's having babies, who is still deeply in love, and how all the couples and little families come together to be one big family, not one of blood, but one of the heart, proving that even those that don't share our DNA can become the most supportive and loving connection there is.  I am sad to see the series end, but I hold out hope that maybe one day in the future the series will come back--maybe with the next generation of bad ass security experts (*wink wink, nudge nudge). Once again, despite the seemingly short length of the story, Reus gives us an adventure, love story, and a kick ass ending all in one, proving that size doesn't matter 😃, but skill certainly does.  I am looking forward to the next release from Reus, no matter the series or new direction she might be taking us in, proving once again that her spot of my favorite authors list is cemented forever.  Thanks for an amazing ride Katie, for making us feel like a small piece of the Red Stone family, and the success of a fabulous author.

*ebook provided by publisher (via netgalley) for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided.

Saturday, January 14, 2017

Review: The Hero (Sons of Texas #1)

The Hero (Sons of Texas #1)

by Donna Grant 

Blurb:
Owen Loughman is a highly-decorated Navy SEAL who has a thirst for action. But there’s one thing he hasn’t been able to forget – his high school sweetheart, Natalie. After over a decade away, Owen is returned home to the ranch in Texas for a dangerous new mission that puts him face-to-face with Natalie and an outside menace that threatens everything he holds dear. He’ll risk it all to keep Natalie safe – and win her heart. . . .
Natalie Dixon has had a lifetime of heartache since Owen was deployed. Fourteen years and one bad marriage later, she finds herself mixed up with the Loughman’s again. With her life on the line against an enemy she can’t fight alone, it’s Owen’s strong shoulders, smoldering eyes, and sensuous smile that she turns to. When danger closes in, she holds close to the only man she’s ever loved…
Themes:  Contemporary
Rating: 4.25  stars
Heat Rating: 
Review:
 The newest experiment by favorite author Donna Grant has hit the shelves with a bang.  I enjoy everything I have read by Donna so when I heard she was trying her hand at contemporary romantic suspense, I knew I had to give it a shot.  I enjoyed the first read, though I found it very similar to a few other series I am currently reading, but Grant, as always, has her own writing style and a true way with the alpha men in her stories.  The story kicks off with a seriously scary loss of life and the reunion of the three brothers that have until now been scattered to the winds of the world as they each protected the innocents of the world in their own way.  Owen has been estranged from his father a long time, long before he left his small hometown really, blaming his dad for the murder of his mother when he was very young.  He loved Natalie, but knew he would never be able to have a wife, afraid of placing her in the same danger that cost him his mother, but now he is back on a mission to save his family… and the woman that still holds his heart.  Natalie has worked hard to get over the loss of Owen and has made something of her life, but now she finds herself smack in the middle of the danger that has come for Owen’s father and the only person that can keep her alive is Owen, with a little help from his brothers.  Owen is the quintessential Navy SEAL, badass to the bone, but he is also dealing with a lot of bad memories of his mother’s death and fears that Natalie, the only woman he’s ever loved will follow that same tragic end.  There were moments I wanted to smack him for being so callous, but there were also moments were his sweetness and consideration made me want to hug him until he released all his pent-up emotion.  Natalie is the kind of lady that I imagine I would be if I were to ever find myself in this kind of situation.  She manages to be an asset to the team, holding her shit together, despite being a novice spy/special operator and when push comes to shove she is able to keep her man safe.  She obviously never stopped loving Owen and still misses him with a deep intensity, but she isn’t willing to be a detour from his life plan; she’ll only ever give herself and her heart to him again if he faces his fears and promises her the life they should have always had. This story follows the couple as they and the rest of their family/team work to find their kidnapped father and uncover a dangerous conspiracy with foreign spies at the center of it.  While there were some moments of disbelief for me, overall I really enjoyed the story and am looking forward to the other two brothers falling in love with their teammates.  If you are a fan of romantic suspense authors like Pamela Clare or Lori Foster, there is much to recommend this story and for fans of Donna Grant’s paranormal works I can only say, give the series a shot for yourself and see if you enjoy this new side to our favorite author. 
*ebook provided by publisher (via netgalley) for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided.



Wednesday, January 11, 2017

Review: The Billionaire Next Door (Billionaire Bad Boys #2)

The Billionaire Next Door (Billionaire Bad Boys #2)

by Jessica Lemmon 

Blurb:
Can't Buy Me Love
It's Tag Crane's job to be the life of the party. Traveling from one exotic locale to another is just part of running the luxurious Crane Hotel empire. But even paradise isn't perfect. Devising a new business strategy is keeping Tag up at night-and so is the Great Dane barking at all hours in the apartment below his. To muzzle the problem, Tag charges downstairs . . . right into the most beautiful, blond distraction he's ever seen.
Dog-sitting by day, bartending by night. It's not exactly the life Rachel Foster dreamed of. But when Tag Crane rushes in, all mountain-man shoulders and obscenely sexy smile, needing her help for the Crane Hotels, it's a fantasy come true. What's the harm in a fun no-strings fling? Only a fool would give her heart to a billionaire player like Tag-until suddenly the one man who can't be caught is the one flirting with forever . . .

Themes: Contemporary  
Rating: 4 stars
Heat Rating: 
Review:
The second Crane billionaire has fallen under love's spell!  I stumbled across this series by chance when I was cruising the web for new stories to try.  I'd never read anything by this author so I was a little skeptical about it, but figured what the heck, mainly because the covers were so compelling.  Taggert "Tag" Crane is definitely a died-in-the-wool Bachelor and it was hard to believe that he would find a woman to drag him out of his shell and steal his heart, but with a little help from a sweet great dane named Adonis, Rachel manages to break him down.  Instant lust and want is something that Tag understands, but when he begins to feel more for Rachel, the fears and excuses kick in and he begins to unintentionally break Rachel's heart a piece at a time.  I loved getting to know Rachel, a woman that has taken her life in her own hands and finally decided that she will leave behind the unhealthy influences in her life and live a little. Once she gets to know Tag, it's impossible to resist his allure, not just physically, but emotionally as well.  This story was filled with laughs, tears, sweetness and heartbreak to go along with the sexy and sinful Tag, and I am truly glad to have had the chance to read it.  I am dying to read Eli's book soon and know it will be great, no matter the challenges he now faces in his life.  I am truly amazed by how much I enjoyed this story, despite the clichéd billionaire playboy and the down on her luck heroine, and am happy to say I have added Ms. Jessica to my watch list.  If you like a story filled with passion, a sexy playboy losing his heart, or even a sweet dog pulling two people together, you will love Billionaire Next Door, and if you haven't read book one, Billionaire Bachelor,  then I suggest you run out and grab both so you are ready for the next story as Eli overcomes all odds to find himself a mate as wonderful and awesome as his brothers have.

*ebook provided by publisher (via netgalley) for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided.

Saturday, January 7, 2017

Review: Bound by Sin (Immortal Brothers #3)

Bound by Sin (Immortal Brothers #3)

by Jacquelyn Frank 

Blurb:
After being chained to a star to burn endlessly as punishment for stealing immortality from the gods, Jaykun has been unshackled to wage war alongside his brothers, in the name of a goddess. But his freedom comes with a price: Each night Jaykun must still suffer—his body burning from the inside out. One early morning, recovering from his torment, he encounters a beautiful stranger on the beach. Naked from her midnight-black hair down to her sandy toes, she approaches him with starry-eyed innocence and the unmistakable full body of a woman.
 Soon Jaykun is swept up with the force of a comet, his desire for her hotter than any sun. His brothers fear he is blinded by her radiant beauty, that she has been sent by their enemies to seduce and destroy him. Jileana is indeed from another world—one Jaykun cannot begin to imagine. But will their passion burn brightly enough to light their way through the darkness that threatens to consume all in its path?
Themes:  paranormal, alternate reality
Rating: 3.75  stars
Heat Rating: 
Review:
 I was so thrilled to return to this series about four brothers that have paid the ultimate price for their hubris in challenging the gods and reaching for immortality that they didn’t earn.  The first two brothers have found their happiness in the arms of some very strong and amazing women, but now Jaykun has been returned to the mortal world in order to fight and spread the name of their goddess in repayment for his freedom.  Having defeated another kingdom, Jaykun is looking only for a little respite and a chance to assert his rule so his brothers can return to their families for the winter season.  But he is completely derailed when the enchanting and secretive Jileana comes into his world, blowing him away and showing him a true innocence that he finds hard to believe.  Jileana has her own secrets to keep, but when she stumbles upon Jaykun’s deepest secret, his deepest shame, she finds his strength and resilience truly sensual and the man himself is irresistible.  The passion between them quickly sweeps them both off their feet, even though they both know and accept that their time together is very limited.  But when Jileana convinces Jaykun to travel to her world as an ambassador to his nation and his goddess, Jaykun’s life is thrown for a serious curveball.  Her world is mysterious and the enemies around them seem to continuously grow in number, even as the Queen of Jileana’s world becomes a fast ally and treats Jaykun as a trusted advisor.  But the biggest danger is the depth of their feelings and the truth that neither of them is willing to give up the other or the love that has blossomed between them.  I LOVED Jileana and as usual Ms. Frank has a way of sneaking in characters and worlds that seem perfectly plausible in the moment, but are amazing and so imaginative that you look back thinking how did she pull that off? Jileana, though a warrior in her world, is innocent of the true depravity that people can hide, even if they aren’t human, and the protection that Jaykun offers is just what she needs to survive.  I loved the world that she came from, and seeing Jileana, in both worlds, grow as she learned and experienced life with Jaykun was an amazing experience for me to enjoy.  Jaykun’s life, while much improved, still has a few drawbacks, including his nightly curse and his inability to give his full faith and love to a woman again, but he handles the challenges as they come his way with great aplomb. I enjoyed this story very much and am thrilled that Jaykun unlocked the mystery of the location of their final missing brother and I am really looking forward to reading his story, Bound by Darkness, the finale in this amazing series.  While I may have been reluctant to finish the series after the first story didn’t trip my trigger as much as expected for a Jacquelyn Frank novel, this series has just gotten consecutively better and I cannot imagine the mystery, magic, and mayhem coming in the finale.  Another masterpiece, Ms. Frank.

*ebook provided by publisher (via netgalley) for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided.