Sunday, August 16, 2015

ARC Review: The Prince and I

The Prince and I (The Oxenburg Princes #2)

by Karen Hawkins

Blurb:

 Gregori Romanovin, Oxenburg’s warrior prince, is escorting his grandmother to a house party deep in the Highlands when he and his entourage are robbed at sword point by a group of ruffians led by a man the locals have dubbed “The Scottish Robin Hood.” The battle-savvy prince instantly realizes there’s something different about this thief, and it’s not just the Scottish accent—it’s the fact that “he” is really a “she.”
Lady Murian, a young widow out for revenge against the powerful earl who killed her husband and stole his birthright, is now living in the woods with her family’s banished retainers. To stay alive, she and her band of men rob rich nobles coming to visit the evil earl. But when she ambushes the Prince of Oxenburg’s golden coach, she gets far more than she expected. For when the prince uncovers her true identity, she’s afraid that he might be the real thief…of her heart.



Themes: historical, Scotland!
Rating: 4.25 stars
Heat Rating:
Review:
 Another prince has found his princess, in probably the most unexpected of places, as he travels through Scotland with his eccentric grandmother.  I have been a fan of Karen’s since the first story I read by her, and this new series revolving around the Princes of the fictional country of Oxenburg keep me coming back for more and wondering what outrageous events these men will find themselves wrapped up in next.  If you have missed the previous stories about these brothers, you are greatly missing out IMHO, but you will be fine with this story because Karen truly writes them as standalones, with all the details you need to follow along.  Max and Murian’s story is full of drama, danger, laughter, and love and it was interesting to see her school him in what it really takes to be a hero for her.  The Robin Hood themed story has some funny twists though as Max finds a way to help Murian and the ways they deal with the attraction between them.  I am looking forward to seeing what happens in the coming stories and what types of mates the rest of the princes find for themselves. 
Max is beyond disgruntled at having to transport and protect his borderline crazy grandmother as she travels to the country home of a man that neither of them can really stand, especially when she won’t tell him why they have to make the journey.  When they are set-upon by a group of thieves, Max finds himself facing the dilemma of hungry villagers in need and giving up a few of their goods is within his capability.  However things go awry when he finds himself challenged by the leader of the troupe, someone that almost bests him, but that turns out to be a most unexpected vision.  Lady Murian has done her best by her people since the death of her husband, their Laird, and the subsequent ousting of her people from their homes.  Determined to give everything to her people she captures Max’s attention and he is willing to help her reach her goals, but the attraction between them is just to irresistible and soon they find themselves falling for one another, an impossible situation when neither is willing to compromise their futures.  Can they find a way to be together and still do what’s right by both of their people?
Max was the quintessential man of his time and station—arrogant and all-knowing—but his sweetness and willingness to embrace his people as equals is not to be neglected.  I really liked him, even if at times his overbearing nature was enough to drive Murian insane, he always has the best interests of others at heart.  While I could see that he had issues giving up control, he often listens closely to Murian and was able to embrace an equal partnership with her.  The love that develops between them is at turns intense with sensuality and light with laughter, but once they realize the love they share, they both try to find a way to come together for life.  Lady Murian is a woman totally out of time; following the paths of her male counterparts and willing to give her all for her people, she would have been an awesome warrior princess in the medieval past or a kick ass military woman in this age.  She was sweet when she was able to let down her guard with Max and show her softer side, but when she steps up to be in charge of her people and their needs, her inner strength shines brightly.  I think so far that Murian is my favorite new princess of Oxenburg and I cannot wait to see how she shakes up the royal family in coming novels. 
This story might have seemed like the classic retelling of the Robin Hood story, but though there are some similarities, the differences are enough to keep you interested and wondering what will happen next.  Max and Murian are a perfectly matched couple, butting heads and bruising egos, even while tenderly caring for each other’s hearts and souls as they fall in love.  Max is a strong and dedicated warrior, but at the same time he is a man of the people, working alongside his men on everyday tasks, while taking their opinions into account just as much as his own.  Lady Murian has had a challenging life, with a lot of loss and sadness, but she doesn’t let that keep her from doing what she thinks is best for her friends and people.  I really enjoyed seeing her battling and strategizing right alongside Max, and then coming home to take him into her arms as her lover.  There was plenty of wit, laughter, and surprise that you never know what will be said or done next.  I cannot wait to see whose story is next and find out what they will go through to find their Princess and turn her into their queen. Keep the magic coming Karen, and I will keep thinking of you as the queen of Scottish Romance. 
*eARC provided by publisher (via netgalley) for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided. 


Wednesday, August 12, 2015

ARC Mini-Review: Hotter With a Pole (M/M)

Hotter With A Pole (Firehouse 69 #2)

by Delilah Devlin

Blurb:

When Noah buys a classic '68 Camaro from a fellow firefighter's widow, he hopes it will ease some of the grief crushing his heart. But the grinding noise under the car's hood sends him straight to a mechanic. Something about the burly, imposing Hoyt sparks Noah's interest, and it's not just Hoyt's ice-blue eyes and bad-boy biker looks. It's the mutual interest they have--Club LaForge.
After losing his partner to cancer a year ago, Hoyt never thought he'd feel the same kind of rush with another man. But his reaction to Noah throbs deep in his body like the rumble of his Harley.
LaForge seems like the perfect place to meet and work off some sorrow, to feel alive again. But the flood of desire quickly gets hot enough to melt their emotional barriers into unexpected connections.
Connections Hoyt isn't sure he's ready for...especially since history has a scary way of repeating itself.
Warning: Get your motor running for a Harley-riding hunk of muscle who doesn't give a damn about the rules of being a Dom, and a firefighter who can take the heat. Buy a case of your favorite coolant. You're gonna need it.
Themes: erotica, M/M
Rating: 3 stars
Heat Rating: 
Review:
 Well that was an interesting and sexy departure from my usual reading options.  I have read many different series and stories by Delilah and they are always hit or miss for me, but this story was a hit.  I enjoyed seeing these two macho guys coming together in a true relationship of give and take.  Granted there was a large focus on the bedroom fun, but there was enough exploration of their emotional traumas and issues that I felt like I really got a small glimpse into what will become a great relationship.  After all love is love in whatever the form and this story proves that if a person has  an open mind they might find they have been missing out on a soul deep connection their whole lives looking for their partner in the wrong places.  I liked getting to know Hoyt and Noah and seeing them interacting with other club members as well as Noah’s firefighter brothers.  I realized much too late that I should have read the previous books in this series and the original to really understand the nuances of the guys and their club, but overall it was a fun, sexy short read for a boring evening in the tub.  Might just have to catch up and keep up with this series. 
*eARC provided by publisher (via netgalley) for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided. 


Monday, August 10, 2015

ARC Mini-Review: Laird Wolf

Laird Wolf (Takhini Shifters #2)

by Vivian Arend

Blurb:

Pulling off a rescue mission at a remote castle in Scotland should be an easy task for lone wolf Damon Black. He’ll flash some muscle, show a little Alpha power, and do whatever it takes to ease Addie MacShay’s fears. But the woman who throws herself into his arms and cries boyfriend is more intriguing than anticipated. The sexy she-wolf’s got more curves, more tantalizing scent, more of everything he desires.
Addie’s job cataloguing an estate at the Sterling-Wylde Manor is complicated by the ongoing discovery of new wills and the two creepy heirs who won’t leave her alone. But her fake boyfriend turns out to be a far greater threat—not only is he fun and flirtatious, he looks delicious in a kilt. She craves his touch, but with her empathic skills on overdrive, touch is the last thing she needs.
Damon’s fighting his unruly inner beast. Addie’s fighting their incredible sexual pull. They'll both have to lower their guard to make this more than a Highland fling.
Themes: wolves, paranormal, Scottland!
Rating: 4.5 stars
Heat Rating: 
Review:
 Traveling to Scotland we get another glimpse into the fascinating world of Vivian Arend’s shifters that spans across the globe now.  My love of this series began with the wolf shifters of her previous series, and this spin off series so far has been great.  I have enjoyed meeting the other kinds of shifters and the way they blend with the different packs and their allies.  This story revolves around the two best friends of the H/h in the previous story (Copper King) and I was wondering when and if they would get books, but never imagined they would share a love story.  Addie and Damon are both hilarious characters with sharp wits, full of sarcasm and sweetness as well.  Coming to Addie’s rescue at the request of her best friend, his best friend’s mate, Damon never imagined he’d find his wolf’s mate and the love of his life in a woman that has driven him crazy from the beginning of their friendship.  I cannot wait to learn more about these characters, but since the only characters we met in this one were unlikely to be the focus of their own story, I am curious who might be getting their own story next.
Damon never planned to fall in love when he reluctantly travels to Scotland to assist Addie with her problems at the home of her new employer.  When he and Addie come to an agreement about how to handle her concerns, it quickly becomes obvious that those issues are the least of their problem, the biggest of which is the attraction between them.  As they get closer to one another, the sensuality and sweetness that Damon shows Addie makes her think she might be able to share her inner truths with him and find a way to share a life.  When their wolves come out to play and their destiny with them, Addie and Damon are determined to be together, no matter what comes between them.  Damon was a great guy, willing to sacrifice for a friend and give everything for his love, but his darker and dangerous edges make him a well rounded but tortured hero.  Addie was sweet and quirky, dealing with the fallout of her parental lineage and the secret of her gifts.  The overall plot was interesting with some twists and unexpected turns, and the ending kicked butt.  Looking forward to whatever Arend’s imagination kicks out next. 
*eARC provided by publisher (via netgalley) for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided. 


Saturday, August 8, 2015

Mini-Review: Smoke on the Water

Smoke on the Water (Sisters of the Craft #3)

by Lori Handeland

Blurb:

Abandoned beneath a black willow tree on the banks of a northern Wisconsin creek, Willow Black spent her entire childhood in foster care. Her entire life she's had terrifying visions, and it is these visions that eventually land her in a psychiatric facility. And so Willow takes her meds and believes she is getting better. Until she meets a fellow patient who doesn't think she is crazy at all. She thinks Willow is a witch.
Willow's psychiatrist, Dr. Sebastian Crane, works hard to resist his feeling that he and Willow are destined to be together while also working to convince her that strange occurrences aren't the result of witchcraft… until he is thrown into the middle of a storm of supernatural events that can't be explained any other way…
Themes: witches, demons, paranormal
Rating: 4 stars
Heat Rating: 
Review:
The intriguing new trilogy by Lori Handeland ends with a bang and some unexpected surprises.  I enjoyed this book, with only a few things driving me crazy, mainly the way the story overlapped so much in time with the two previous stories.  I guess I see in a way why it was done that way, but I always hate when stories are like that and there is no lead up or warning to it.  Really if you haven’t read the other three stories you will be missing the majority of what is happening until time catches up with the ends of the two previous novels.  That being said, since I have in fact read the previous novels, I was able to catch on quickly as to the fact the timelines overlapped and follow along pretty well with the overall plot line.  Being the big finale there were a lot of battles in this one as well as the reunion of the long lost sisters and the integration of their men into the family and battle plans.  There were quite a few laughs since Willow has such a dry wit and her humor is right up my alley.  Seeing her come in to her power and begin to understand the true ramifications of all her abilities was pretty awesome, but the favorite parts for me involved times when she was talking in circles around Sebastian and turning him into the most adorably confused smart guy I’ve ever seen.  The relationship between Willow and Sebastian was obviously set with many pitfalls and obstacles for them to overcome, not the least of which is their surroundings, but they both show such caring and concern that the love that develops is a little more believable.  The reunion between the sisters was sweet and charming, while the battles between the Sisters’ Team and the demon that has haunted them through time were well written and suspenseful.  I can honestly say I didn’t enjoy the trilogy as much as the previous series I’ve read by Lori, but each book was well written with plenty of danger, drama, romance, and love, so all in all not a bad day’s read.  My biggest peeve of course was the fact the story was written partially in first person and partially in third, which personally made me crazy and was a departure from most Handeland works I’ve read in the past.  For fans of the Night Creature series, we continue to see some favorite characters carried over and I am hoping she will soon bring back that series as well as other projects down the line. Lori remains one of my authors to watch, but this series was not my favorite and didn’t quite meet my hopes for the set-up.
*eARC provided by publisher (via netgalley) for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided. 


Wednesday, August 5, 2015

ARC Review: Wolf Trouble

Wolf Trouble (SWAT #2)

by Paige Tyler

Blurb:

There's never been a female on the Dallas SWAT team and Senior Corporal Xander Riggs prefers it that way. The elite pack of alpha male wolfshifters is no place for a woman. But Khaki Blake is no ordinary woman.
When Khaki walks through the door attractive as hell and smelling like heaven, Xander doesn't know what the heck to do. Worse, she's put under his command and Xander's protective instincts go on high alert. When things start heating up both on and off the clock, it's almost impossible to keep their heads in the game and their hands off each other...
Themes: shifters, werewolves, paranormal
Rating: 4.25 stars
Heat Rating: 
Review:
 The adventure of the Dallas SWAT team and werewolf pack continues with a new member that will really be shaking up the lives and futures of these guys, one in particular. I enjoyed the previous story in this series, as well as Paige's X-Ops series, and find new interesting tidbits in her world every time I venture into it.   If you missed the previous book in this series, I recommend going back to get the full story of the team and how everyone came to be a member of the pack, but this story is certainly well written enough to truly be a standalone.  Tyler always manages to pack a lot of heat, heart, and drama into short amount of pages that you get swept away in the story and don’t even realize it is ending until the big climax hits and the couple is happily settled.  I am looking forward to future stories in this series and hope all the other guys find their One soon. 
Khaki is fed up with the way her professional and person life has collided and the wreck that comes from it, so when Gage Dixon offers her a place on the SWAT team and in his pack, she jumps at the chance to start over fresh somewhere far away from the current disasters.  She never planned to fall head over heels in lust with her team leader the minute she sees—and smells—him on the very first day, but his instant dislike throws her for a loop.  Training her butt off to try to please Xander and find a place for herself on the team, Khaki is willing to swallow her pride and ask anyone for help, even Xander, but getting to know him could be even more disastrous as she finds herself even more drawn to him.  Xander can no longer hide the attraction and instant connection with Khaki and they give into their desires in a night of blistering passion destined to change their lives forever.  Soon it comes to the choice of being together or being members of the pack and team, but when danger threatens to end any chance at a future, the Pack with have to band together to keep all their members alive.
Khaki, as her name implies, was a truly unique character, unlike any werewolf, female cop, or heroine I have read about.  She has worked all her lie to find a place in the world, but one personal mistake puts her life on the line and makes it impossible for her to do her job anymore.   Jumping at the chance to move to Dallas and join the pack, she never imagined her mate was there waiting for her, much less that he would be her immediate supervisor.  Once burned and believing Xander hates her doesn’t make it any easier to resists the desire he brings out in her.  I enjoyed seeing her kick ass right alongside or even some times in front of the macho badass males in her squad.  She was the type of woman that has hit her limit and will no longer take shit from anyone.  Her willingness to sacrifice anything, even her own life, for the man she loves shows her honor and dedication, but the way she brings out his playful and loving side makes her a truly great character in my humble opinion.  Can’t wait to see more of her in future stories. 
Xander is the type of guy that really doesn’t know how to handle the connection that he feels immediately upon seeing and smelling this new and sexually simulating pack member.  Khaki invades his senses, mind, body and soul, but he fights every step of the way to keep them from being in an awkward position. I kind of hated the way he went about trying to keep space between them though, eroding Khaki’s confidence and making her believe he hated her.  Once he comes to terms with the fact that there is no denying their attraction, I began to love him even more.  He is more playful, totally sensual, and sweetly protective of his female and I can see him being so for the duration of their lives.  Seeing him struggling with the implications of their relationship and the potential fallout was a little rough, but thankfully all parties got just what they wanted and needed in the end. 
In the end I really liked this story, the characters were given just enough obstacles to overcome and the plot was well written enough that I was able to follow and sometimes even jump ahead of the characters.  Khaki was an endearingly sweet character that also had her badass side and a sensual side she only shared with Xander.  Seeing her come into her own fully, with the support of her mate, shows that sometimes the best thing a woman can do for herself if find the RIGHT man not just A man to back her up in all life’s dramas. Xander was the type of guy you never think will settle down, but when Khaki’s scent knocks him on his ass, there is no turning back.  While he resists the sexual pull, he is actually learning more about and beginning to fall deeper into love with Khaki.  Giving in to their desires brings them that ultimate fulfillment, completing their lives and giving them the missing half of their souls back.  I enjoyed both “villains” in this story and enjoyed how the two mini-plots overlapped, giving Khaki, Xander and the team ample opportunity to show off their skills.  Overall a really good read and one that will hopefully lead to many more down the line.  In the meantime, if you haven’t already I recommended catching up on this series as well as Paige’s X-Ops series.  Keep up the good work, Paige.  

*eARC provided by publisher (via netgalley) for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided. 


Monday, August 3, 2015

ARC Mini- Review: Dare To Rock

Dare to Rock (Dare to Love #7)

by Carly Phillips

Blurb:

Avery Dare lives a quiet life in Miami as an online fashion/makeup video blogger. She has good friends, a close, large family and if her love life is lacking, she likes it that way. But when she receives an invitation to one of her ex's concerts along with an invitation to meet him back stage, she decides to take the risk… and comes face to face with the reality of his rock star lifestyle - the press, the crowds, and the half naked groupies.
At eighteen, Grey Kingston left everything he knew and loved behind to seek fame and fortune as a rock star, and he found it as the lead guitarist and singer for the band, Tangled Royal. Fans adore him, women throw themselves at him, and he can afford everything he couldn’t growing up. Yet at the height of his career, he’s ready to walk away and return home to a simpler life… and the woman he left behind, if he can convince her to give him another chance.
Except moving on isn’t as easy as Grey would like. When Avery is threatened by a stalker, it becomes evident Grey’s fans not only don’t want him to retire, they don’t want Avery in his life either. And Avery isn’t sure she wants the pressures that are part of Grey’s life… but she doesn’t want to lose him again, either. Can their recently renewed love survive the fallout?
Themes: contemporary, erotica

Rating: 4.75 starsHeat Rating: 


Review:

 The emotional trauma and drama of the Dare family continues with Avery and Grey’s story of reconnecting and finding a lasting love.  I wasn’t sure I’d like this story because it seemed they both had SOOO many obstacles to overcome to have chance at happiness together that I feared the story wouldn’t be able to be properly fleshed out with its relatively short length.  But once again Carly Phillips overcomes all odds and blows past my expectations.  Grey is the type of guy we all see on the surface and think he’s just the man for us—gorgeous, sensual, rich, loved and loving—but beneath those layers his heart is soft and sweet and he has found that the important things in life are those that affect him on that deeper level.  Avery was an intriguing mix of strength and vulnerability, standing up for what she wants at the most unexpected moments, then crumbling just as easily because of hurts long healed.  I loved getting to see more of the family and learn about the dynamics of some of the other relationships and have a sinking suspicion I know whose book will be next and I cannot wait.  If you haven’t grabbed the Dare to Love series yet, I recommend you run right out and give it a shot, because this family is the modern day, sensually portrayed, Kennedy family, and the members will hold your interest if for no other reason than their pasts are so outrageous.  Another hit, Carly!
*eARC provided by publisher (via netgalley) for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided. 


Wednesday, July 29, 2015

Review: Opening Up

Opening Up (Ink & Chrome #1)

by Lauren Dane

Blurb:

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Lauren Dane delivers Book#1 in her Ink &; Chrome erotic romance series.
The men of the Twisted Steel custom motorcycle shop are great with their hands... and they're not afraid to get dirty.
PJ is exactly the kind of woman Twisted Steel owner Asa Barrons doesn't need. The last thing he wants to do is mix business with pleasure, and PJ has some of the best custom detailing he's ever seen. But the chemistry between them won't be denied, and soon he's introducing her to a whole new world in the bedroom, pushing her far beyond anything she's ever experienced. PJ finds she can't get enough, but how far is too far before he consumes her completely?

Themes: contemporary
Rating: 4.75 stars
Heat Rating:  
Review:
Dane strikes gold again with her new Ink and Chrome series revolving around the sexy and raw men that find comfort in tattoos, piercings, cars, and bikes… really all the interests that make a good badass! I was reluctant to start a new series, especially one that is said to be another simple contemporary romance, mainly since Dane’s work is usually so erotic I thought she might have headed in a more mainstream direction for this series, which might have left me missing some of her magic.  Boy how wrong was I!?! It’s obvious that some of the more interesting parts of erotic romance are becoming more popular and mainstream making it easier for the naughty stuff to be marketed.  Opening Up was definitely not your normal cut and dried contemporary romance, instead working in some seriously kinky, but still romantic moments, some VERY intriguing body art and jewelry.  I enjoyed every second of it and cannot wait to read more along this line.  The characters were interesting, the setting and overall plot was packed with emotion and drama and the secondary characters gave the story that extra bit of life really needed to make a series fabulous.  Dane has met my every desire as usual, even if the story is not marketed to its full greatness.  Definitely a series that is right up my alley!
PJ has given up on ever pleasing her father and boss, at least consciously, but she is determined to make a name for herself in the car industry that she loves.  She is willing to give up just about anything, but when she meets Asa she is just as determined that they explore their mutual chemistry and their obvious connection.  But Asa has his own preconceptions about PJ and while he lusts for her, he knows she’s not the right girl for him.  When a night of explosive passion shows Asa just how much he could come to care for PJ he decides that the risk to his heart and his steady lifestyle is not worth it.  PJ really wants to have Asa in her life and bed, but she is done letting the men in her life tell her what’s good for her and how she should be living her life, so she will just move on with her life without him.  As PJ’s professional life changes drastically, Asa begins to see that he definitely underestimated her and he wants another chance, but it’ll take some serious groveling and change on his part to allow PJ to risk her heart again.  And with the heartbreak coming from every angle can PJ find a way to let Asa have her heart and trust him enough to cherish that gift?
PJ was a woman that has never had the emotional support and stability many of us gets from our families, but despite that she has found her own way in life and made herself into a successful and amazing woman.  When she decides to go after something or someone she wants, there is no way she won’t reach her goals, even if it causes her pain both emotional and physical.  She has always been the odd woman out, the rebel of the family and so the family has overlooked her for long enough.  I loved seeing her stand up for what she wanted and going after her goals, especially when her own family neglected to recognize her abilities.   Asa is obviously who she wants to be hers, but when he dismisses her and shows her that he cannot really appreciate her awesomeness, she is quick to move on and show him just what his stupidity is costing him.  She is able to use her wit and intelligence as well as her sweetness and sensuality to show Asa that she is the woman for him, and when he does embrace their relationship, she is a big enough woman that she doesn’t lord his idiocy over his head—much. PJ is just the type of woman I strive to be and maybe I will use her for my inspiration for MY next ink. :)
Asa was such an Ass through the first part of this story that I wanted to kick him right in the nuts… no joke.   He obviously has some issues from his past, but he let that color his interactions with PJ entirely too much for my liking.  I can understand that he was wary of her in the beginning, thinking she was too young and na├»ve for him, but after their months of flirting and getting to know one another, long before they made it to “dating”, he really should have known better.  Once he gets himself back in order and throws out his misconceptions I began to really, really love him. He was sweet as all get out, but maintained his rough and sexually charged personality, making him the perfect match for the sassy and loving PJ.  He so obviously cares deeply for those he lets into his circle and when he confronts PJ’s family on her behalf we see the warrior side of him and it makes me wish I could find one just like him living around here so I could kidnap him and make him mine.  (Insert maniacal laughter!)  Overall Asa was the type of hero I like to read even though he frustrates me;  a man with a darker side, both in bed and out, Asa had issues to overcome, but once he did he showed how truly great he was as a man, lover, mate, and friend to PJ. 
Opening Up really was an apt title for this story about two people that are very different on the surface but deep down are so alike and obviously made to be the perfect match for one another. Asa and PJ both opened to so many possibilities and changes in this story that neither of them were the same person in the end, making this story one truly about human transformation and the power of our minds and heart to adapt and expand as things come our way.  PJ was a woman that knew her own mind, regardless what others thought, and she refused to give up her dreams no matter who tore her down and how often they did it.  When the truth of her relationship with her father comes out I felt more connected to her character than ever since I have experienced a similar situation, and seeing Asa support her through that and give her all the love she needed gave me hope of finding my own supportive mate.  Asa was a man that needed his head to get pushed to the back  so his heart could tell him what was really good for him.  Once he stops thinking himself out of his connection and emotional need for PJ he becomes a better man and I fell in love with him.  Overall the story was heart-wrenching at moments, sensually heated at others and sweetly loving the remainder of the story.  Dane has a way with her characters that brings them to life making you feel like you are truly invested in their lives and happiness, a skill which so many new writers overlook in their desire to produce, produce, produce.  Sometimes a true masterpiece takes time and a little piece of the author’s heart.  I am dying to know who will be the match for Duke and am hoping for Mick to get a story as well.  Thanks for the new adventures to come Lauren, can’t wait to meet more Ink and Chrome guys. 

*eBook provided by publisher (via netgalley) for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided.