Saturday, May 20, 2017

Review: Saved by Darkness (Darkness #6)

Saved by Darkness (Darkness #6)

by Katie Reus

Blurb:
 He thought he lost her decades ago.
Half-demon, half-dragon shifter Ian McCabe is hellbent on getting back the only woman he’s ever loved. When Fiona O’Riley kicked him out of her life decades ago, he thought she was gone for good. Now that she’s back, nothing will stop him from claiming her. But she wants nothing to do with him—or his family.
She’ll do anything to save him.
Fiona knows that Ian is the only male for her. The only way to keep him alive is to stay away from him. But when tragedy strikes and they discover a wicked agenda for the mass murder of humans, they must work together to take down the enemies that threaten everyone. But there’s so much more on the line. As their undeniable desire intensifies, they’re faced with an unbearable choice. If Fiona and Ian succumb to their temptation, mating could be the last thing they ever do.
Themes:  paranormal, dragon shifters, demons, and wolves oh My!
Rating: 4 stars
Heat Rating: 
Review:
 Another half-demon hottie has finally found and kept the woman that was made for him.  This series has progressed slowly through the paranormal leaders in the Biloxi, MS area in this amazing and imaginative series by Katie Reus. Ian McCabe is the long lost brother of Bo, the sexy club owner that found his mate in a foxy demigoddess, and while he is a hard-ass, he is also a seriously sensual male.  When the woman that ripped his heart out more than 50 years earlier is thrust back into his life, he is unable to resist going to see her for himself, but when he stumbles on her being attacked he is determined that she will be safe even if he cannot have her for himself.  Fiona hated breaking Ian’s heart so long ago, but knowing that he was out there somewhere alive and safe keeps her from truly regretting it. When she finds herself faced with the man that she never stopped loving, she is not quite so able o give him up again.  Thrown together to rescue a friend from a seriously dangerous Hell realm, Fiona and Ian must find a way to come to terms with the full truth of their past and move on if they are going to survive the dangers around them.  This story was a little bit different than some previous installments in the series in that most of the romance of this novel was actually set in their lives 50 years ago, with short flashbacks into their original romance, even as the danger in their current lives is escalating. Fiona was an amazing woman, giving up her chance at love and happiness with her mate in order to keep him safe from the psychos in her family.  I enjoyed seeing Fiona come to terms with her past and find a way to forgive herself for her role in breaking Ian’s heart and finding a way to change their future.  Her bravery and passion for keeping her loved ones safe and defeating the enemies that place them in danger, made her a female to truly be reckoned with. With Ian back in her life there is no real way to keep her heart behind the wall of ice she long ago constructed, giving into the love and passion that make them the perfect lovers.  Once Ian learns that what he believed about Fiona for the last 50 years is way off base, there is no way in any hell that he will let her escape again; determined to bring his mate back into his life--and his bed-- Ian will do whatever it takes to keep her safe and protect those she claims as her own in order to have the chance to give her his heart.  His passion is the driving factor for his every moment with Fiona, but his love for her is impossible to deny whenever they are together or he thinks about her.  I hurt so bad for Ian when his heart was breaking and was so happy to see them finally get their HEA.  This series continues to amaze me as each new and different couple finds love in the most unplanned of places and I cannot wait to see which couple will find love next in this group of friends and family.  Keep the magic coming Katie.
*ebook provided by publisher (via netgalley) for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided.

Wednesday, May 17, 2017

ARC Review: New Leash on Life (The Dogfather #2) MILD SPOILERS AHEAD

New Leash on Life (The Dogfather #2)

by Roxanne St. Claire 

Blurb:
 Former attorney and current dog whisperer Shane Kilcannon doesn’t like to lose. At anything. So when he messes up his chance with a beautiful stranger whose confident smile and haunted eyes intrigue him more than any woman he’s ever met, he’s ready to snarl like one of his beloved pit bulls. But Shane’s work with the wildest and wariest of his family’s rescue dogs has taught him patience…and persistence. When his father asks him to work alongside Chloe, helping to convince the locals to support her groundbreaking tourism plans, he agrees…as long as she is willing to help him by giving a temporary home to one misunderstood dog.
Chloe Somerset has built a reputation in the tourism industry as someone with big ideas that put little places on the map, and she’s confident she can do the same for Bitter Bark, North Carolina. All she has to do is convince one small town to change its name, open her germophobic heart to a dog with a penchant for face-licking, and avoid the landmines of local politics when her plans divide the townspeople. But none of that is as scary as the feeling of falling hard for a handsome charmer who whispers all the right things and tempts Chloe to forget a lifetime of hard lessons. Shane might be the best trainer in the family, with an instinct for how to get through to the creatures who need care the most, but he’s met his match with Chloe and it’ll take every trick he knows to teach her to fall in love.
Themes: Contemporary
Rating: 4.25 stars
Heat Rating: 

Review:
               **MILD SPOILERS AHEAD**
 The Dogfather strikes again… even if it was mostly unintentional. Roxanne St. Claire takes us back to Bitter Bark, NC where the Kilcannon family reminds us all of the importance of sticking together and sharing love.  I am enjoying this series very much and look forward to this whole series and seeing all six of this generation of an amazing family find love. I very much liked this second story and was surprised by Shane and his ability to charm just about any creature, especially the female ones. Shane’s story was full of challenges, fun, and secrets shared through the relationship they slowly built. Chloe was an enigma for sure, though I began to understand just how deeply rooted her fears were and was happy to see her slowly overcome more and more of them. The world that Roxanne has built in this small southern town is heartwarming while at the same time shows that no town is perfect, simply because no person is perfect, but when people truly come together as a community the power of those individuals is multiplied. If you love to see people fall in love in the most unlikely of circumstance and with the least likely match you could imagine, then Shane and Chloe will fill that need.  I was a little disappointed in Shane’s stubbornness and ornery attitude about love considering the love his parents had and the love his father still has for his late wife.  In the end, the  title holds true and Chloe and Shane really do offer one another a New Leash on Life.
Chloe has arrived in Bitter Bark, hoping to do a favor for her aunt, with a mission to present a solution to the town’s lack of tourism. Being a tourism expert has made her a gypsy through life, but her history makes her a bit neurotic and OCD about a lot of circumstances in life.  She never expects for the perfect idea to her problem to come in the form of a sexy man, but after rewarding him with a hot kiss, she runs off and runs with that idea.  Shane is obsessed--slightly-- with the sexy woman that rocked his world with a hot kiss and when he is finally offered the chance to meet her officially, he is more than happy to step in for his father on the tourism committee.  Chloe’s idea is met with some serious resistance, but once Shane puts a a few stipulations on his support she knows she can bring the town around.  Working together on a mission to convert the small town to Chloe’s side, Shane brings in a sweet pup that slowly steals Chloe’s heart, which in turn pulls Shane deeper into the orbit of Miss Chloe.  But Shane doesn't trust in love anymore and while he’s willing to play with Chloe and help her overcome some of those long-held hang-ups, there’s no future for them…unless Shane finds a way to get over his own fears and embrace the love he can no longer deny he has for the barrier-breaking Chloe.
Chloe was a fun character to learn about, mostly because I can’t really understand a woman that is so obsessed with cleanliness that she can’t even give a sweet dog some love.  Being a huge animal lover (yes, I love all five of my pups), I loved watching Daisy help Chloe get over herself just by being the sweet and lovable dog she is.  Chloe worked hard and found just the motivation she needed to break down those personal barriers in Daisy and Shane’s love for her. She may not understand just how much she needed both Shane and Daisy in her life, but I could clearly see that without them this woman would have gone through life without understanding the true love and affection of a dog and the sweetness of a dog that is always there for you. Even if everyone else fails you, a loved animal will always give you back that love in spades. Shane on the other hand understands perfectly the love that comes from a well loved animal, but women are a different story.  He’s not interested in relationships, doesn't believe in true love, and certainly isn't opposed to the temporary nature inherent in dating a woman like Chloe, so he’s persistent when he decides he wants her.  But the more time he spends with her, watching her change and grow right before his eyes, the more he begins to fall for her.  I was very disappointed in Shane, especially when he upsets his father with his views of love and his parents relationship, but thankfully he changes his mind and sees that he truly does love Chloe.  It was obvious from the beginning that Shane has a more than adequate dose of the sexiness and charm of Irishmen, but as he pushed Chloe past her issues, even while fighting against do.ing the same for himself, made me want to slap some sense into him.  When he finally admits to loving Chloe I was in his corner and loved seeing him prove his love to her and finding a way to give her all she needs in life and to convince her to be his.  
New Leash on Life is the kind of heartwarming and heartbreaking story that I always expect from Rocki, but this story hit on a few very important issues that many people never get any experience with.  While most of us cannot imagine living the way Chloe did, I just as much couldn’t imagine having a life without animals walking through life right beside me.  Chloe finds herself in this story as much as she finds Shane;  she changes almost all of her habits, sacrificing for those she loves, and slowly coming to understand that there are normal levels that can be reached for most of her concerns, without going totally overboard.  Sweet, sexy, and smart, with just the right stiffness in her backbone, Chloe is the kind of all-American woman that most us try to portray to the world, with just enough wildness hiding deep inside to entice a man like Shane.  Shane himself has his ups and downs, but in the end I liked him just as much as I did his brother Garrett, though I wished he’d come to terms with his pain long before the time he finally did.  The sexy passion between these two was tempered by the fears and hangups that Chloe has to work to overcome and by Shane’s stubborn insistence that he is only after a little bed play with Chloe, but when they both begin to see that light they bring to each other the passion gets hotter and I loved seeing that.  Overall, this story was very interesting, with some fun laughs, sweet doggy moments, and two people that obviously needed each other, though I wished there was a little more time to see Shane deal with his emotions.  I loved every moment and cannot wait for Liam’s story, coming soon, and to see if the Dogfather will finally find a way for Liam to get the woman that has his heart already in the palm of her hand. Great work, Roxanne.
*eARC provided by publisher (via netgalley) for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided.

Saturday, May 13, 2017

Review: Hero in the Highlands (No Ordinary Hero #1)

Hero in the Highlands (No Ordinary Hero #1)

by Suzanne Enoch

Blurb:
 WILD AT HEART
Scotland, 1812: He’s ferocious and rugged to the bone, an English soldier more at home on the battlefield than in any Society drawing room. And when Major Gabriel Forrester learns that he’s inherited the massive Scottish Highlands title and estate of a distant relation, the last thing he wants to do is give up the intensity of the battlefield for the too-soft indulgences of noble life. But Gabriel Forrester does not shirk his responsibilities, and when he meets striking, raven-eyed lass Fiona Blackstock, his new circumstances abruptly become more intriguing.
Like any good Highlander, Fiona despises the English—and the new Duke of Lattimer is no exception. Firstly, he is far too attractive for Fiona’s peace of mind. Secondly, his right to “her” castle is a travesty, since it’s been clan Maxwell property for ages. As the two enter a heated battle of wills, an unexpected passion blazes into a love as fierye as the Highlands themselves. Is Fiona strong enough to resist her enemy’s advances—or is Gabriel actually her hero in disguise?
Themes: Historical, Scotland 
Rating: 4.5 stars
Heat Rating: 
Review:
 Suzanne Enoch is taking us on another journey through historic Scotland with the story of an English soldier who suddenly finds himself with too many responsibilities and the life-changing events that he never knew to look forward to.  Enoch has an interesting skill with bringing together the most unexpected of allies and forming relationships from them.  I enjoyed this new first-in-a-series and am seriously looking forward to the next one where Gabriel's younger sister finds herself in an unexpected situation herself.  Gabriel has lived a simple life, but he has made a name for himself in the British army and wants nothing more than to continue fighting with his men.  When his estranged great-uncle dies with no heirs he is forced into the position of taking his place as the Duke of Lattimer, a truly unwanted position.  Determined to fulfill his mission to get his affairs in order and get back to the war, he has traveled to the seat of his Dukedom in the Scottish Highlands to bring his estate up to date.  Arriving to find his world will never be the same, Gabriel finds himself confronted with the brave and foolish young woman who has taken over the running of his estate.  Fiona is a woman that will never submit to any man, but when Gabriel arrives and tries to push her not just out of her position but potentially out of her home, she knows she will need to get him to understand how important she is to his people.  Gabriel is a bit of an arrogant ass, but he has never met a woman like Fiona and has no idea how to handle her.  He thankfully learns to handle her as she steals more and more of his heart, and as the people that call his estate home come to trust him he is pulled deeper into the role he has never wanted from the time it fell into his lap. Fiona is beyond fiery and she has been the sole caretaker of her little piece of her clan for many years now; being faced with the danger Gabriel poses, to her people and her own heart, Fiona fights back like any cornered animal, but with her brain not just with physical force.  I loved seeing these two clashing again and again, their wills both being beyond strong and their hardheadedness made them both the perfect match to one another.  Fiona and Gabriel also came to represent the most important type of partnership, two dynamic leaders coming together to force a new clan with the people that support and love them most.  As always I enjoyed the highland spirit expressed through these characters, even the ones that claimed their English heritage, because that highland spirit is sometimes the only thing that gets me out of bed in the morning.  I cannot wait for the next in this series where we will get to learn more about Gabriel’s sister Marjorie and hopefully see her find her place in the highland culture that her brother now claims as his own. Another amazing series capturing the greatness of Scotland and the people that make it a most proud and unique culture that I can claim as my very own.
*ebook provided by publisher (via netgalley) for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided.

Wednesday, May 10, 2017

Review: Duke of Pleasure (Maiden Lane #11)

Duke of Pleasure (Maiden Lane #11)

by Elizabeth Hoyt

Blurb:
IN THE ARMS OF DANGER
Bold. Brave. Brutally handsome. Hugh Fitzroy, the Duke of Kyle, is the king's secret weapon. Sent to defeat the notorious Lords of Chaos, he is ambushed in a London alley—and rescued by an unlikely ally: a masked stranger with the unmistakable curves of a woman.
IN THE HEAT OF DESIRE
Cocky. Clever. Courageously independent. Alf has survived on the perilous streets of St. Giles by disguising her sex. By day she is a boy, dealing in information and secrets. By night she's the notorious Ghost of St. Giles, a masked vigilante. But as she saves Hugh from assassins, she finds herself succumbing to temptation.
ONE KISS WILL CHANGE THEIR LIVES FOREVER
When Hugh hires Alf to investigate the Lords of Chaos, her worlds collide. Once Hugh realizes that the boy and the Ghost are the same, will Alf find the courage to become the woman she needs to be—before the Lords of Chaos destroy them both?
Themes: Historical
Rating: 4.5  stars
Heat Rating: 
Review:
 This wonderful series is coming closer and closer to the end and the Ghost of St. Giles might just be retiring once and for all.  I have been a fan of this series for a long time now and as each new couple find love the world of these interwoven and beyond interesting individuals grows and grows.  Alf has been an interest of mine for the last few stories, a strong young woman living her life as a boy in order to stand alone and independent in a time and world when a woman alone was almost unheard of.  The Duke of Kyle has been pulled into this small world by an assignment to uncover the people responsible for the disgusting secret society hiding inside the highest level of society. When he pulls Alf back into his life he never imagines just how much his life will change; Hugh is instantly draw to this spirited and Independent woman, whether as the Ghost of St Giles, the young man that deals in secrets, or as the sensual woman he is learning she truly is.  I enjoyed seeing Alf find her footing with Hugh and his sons and of course finding a way to use her skills as the Ghost in order to bring his assignment to an end.  She is the kind of woman that is long before her time, doing whatever it takes to keep herself safe in a world against her, but she always manages to come out on the other side safely.  Hugh has no idea how he will keep a woman like Alf without having to clip her wings, and when he encourages her to change in order to fulfill his need for an accomplice, he even begins to understand that he loves her just the way she is.  Hugh himself was definitely a man at his wits end.  He has no idea how to relate to the children he dearly loves, he can’t find a way to bring an evil society to an end, and he is determined to bring Alf into his life permanently.  I loved Hugh, even as I wondered how he would be able to overcome his prejudices and truly gives his heart to Alf. Together these two are a perfect team, overcoming danger and thwarting crimes together.  In the end Alf has to accept that she doesn't have to be either the Ghost or a woman, but instead needs to find a way to be both and live a full live with Hugh.  This story was packed with fun, emotional tension, and sensuality and seeing Alf come into her own and take Hugh into her heart was amazing.  While I am sad to see this series end after the next story, I can definitely say it has been a crazy wonderful ride from the very beginning and we have met some fabulously intriguing characters.  I am looking forward to the final story and then of course whatever Elizabeth might come up with next.  If you missed the Maiden Lane Experience you need to go back to number one and read through all of the series in order to fully appreciate the literary magic that marks an Elizabeth Hoyt novel. 
*ebook provided by publisher (via netgalley) for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided.

Saturday, May 6, 2017

Review: Explosive Forces (K-9 Rescue #5)

Explosive Forces (K-9 Rescue #5)

by D.D. Ayres

Blurb:
Danger is heating up…
When Carly Reese’s beloved fashion boutique catches fire, she sees her dreams go up in smoke. The good news is that Carly was saved from the flames by a barking dog nearby. She soon discovers the heroic pooch is a trained K-9 who’s guarding his unconscious partner …a gorgeous firefighter who ends up in Carly’s arms.
Noah Glover and his K-9 are a fearless duo, and Noah has clearly met his match with the brave, beautiful Carly. Soon they team up to track down the arsonist behind the blast – a psychotic criminal who’s intent on framing Noah. Meanwhile, the sparks between Noah and and Carly could ignite a five-alarm fire. Should they smother their feelings in the name of justice…or fan the flames of passion?
Themes: Contemporary
Rating: 3.5 stars
Heat Rating: 
Review:
This series has had a few ups and downs for me, but overall I have enjoyed reading Ms. Ayres series about K-9 handlers and the partners that make them special.  Each one of the stories is only loosely related, but the interconnected and important thread is the dogs that make these stories truly interesting and unique. This story is about a sexy fire investigator and his k-9 partner who meet the most intriguing woman in the most unwelcome and dangerous of circumstances.  Carly has just reached her goal of opening a small important boutique when she is pulled into a deadly game between Noah and an individual out to bring his life to an end, but what girl can resist saving a sexy fireman and his sweet k-9 partner.  When the danger surrounding Noah begins to spill over to Carly, they must work together in order to bring the would-be killer to justice.  Noah is sweet, sexy, and smart, but he is unsure why Carly brings him to his knees with her passion, sweetness and smarts.  Noah is being pulled deeper and deeper into a game of cat and mouse with a man that is obviously determined to see both him and Carly dead, but he will not allow her to be injured because of him.  I loved getting to know Noah, even has he runs in circles and tries to figure out who is after him, and of course I loved his relationship with his pup. Carly is an enigma, but as we get to know her we see her smarts, courage, and sass come out and lead her into some interesting situations with Noah and on her own.  These two had instant chemistry and I wasn’t surprised when the flare of passion led to a quick affair, but after the first flare burns bright, they are able to get to know one another and come to understand that their connection is more than just physical.  While I can say that I thoroughly enjoyed this installment,  I am truly looking forward to more of these stories especially ones that might be more closely related to the training facility that began the series.  Ms Ayres has a writing style all her own for sure, but I am finding more and more that I like her writing and her imagination as she brings to life the stories of the men and women that work with their k-9 partners to keep the world safe from dangers. I cannot wait to see what type of k-9 officers might be detailed next and where their skills might take us in the world of danger and drama. 
*ebook provided by publisher (via netgalley) for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided.

Wednesday, May 3, 2017

Review: Bound in Darkness (Immortal Brothers #4)

Bound in Darkness (Immortal Brothers #4)

by Jacquelyn Frank

Blurb:
After drinking from the fountain of immortality along with his brothers, Maxum is condemned by the gods to be entombed in the earth. Even though he has now been granted a reprieve by day, each night he is buried anew, his rock-hard body immobilized, his bones crushed by the pressure. When he emerges, his body heals, but his spirit remains scarred. There is only one way for Maxum to be completely free: He must kill the god who cursed him.
The task will require tremendous power, so Maxum embarks on a quest to gather talismans to equip him for the battle. Then an earthy wench seduces him and steals one of his magical amulets, but he catches her. Finding herself between a rock and a hard place, she strikes a bargain. The beautiful and alluring Airianne is a skilled thief—and she can help him in his acquisition of the talismans. Will this stealthy seductress also try to steal his heart—or will their boldness end up getting them both buried?
Themes: Paranormal
Rating: 4.5 stars
Heat Rating: 
Review:
 The brothers have finally reached the end of their long quest with a victory and a surprising new destiny for the final brother to find his freedom.  This series started off with a story that didn’t really capture me so I waited a long time to continue the series, but the series got better and better as it went along I am happy to say.  Ms Frank is certainly one of my favorite authors and I was thrilled when her usual amazing ability to drag me into a story and the lives of her characters came back full force.  The final three stories of this series were wonderful with action, passion, amazing adventures, and the love that can come from the most unexpected of sources.  I really enjoyed this series finale, even while I was sad to see that I wouldn't be able to learn more about this strange and amazing world that came from deep in Ms. Frank’s imagination. Maxum has been released from his watery grave and is on a quest to end his curse for once and for all.  His only obstacle is the sassy little thief that picked his pocket and stole his attention,but once he catches up with her she refuses to leave him in peace.  Airi knows that she is desperate, but when Maxum catches her--and catches her eye-- she thinks that he might be the answer to her problems. Forced to deal with one another Airi and Maxum quickly begin to realize they cannot resist one another, but when their mission becomes much more than either of them realized Airi knows that giving in to their passion will leave her with a broken heart.  I loved Maxum, his grumpiness hides his sweetness well, the sarcasm and anger that he presents the world is simply a way to keep the world away from him.  His quest, while justified on the surface, is about him finding a way to escape from a vengeful god, which can only lead to more trouble in his life. Once he started to trust and fall for Airi his goals shifted and he began to realize that his freedom would allow him to have a future with Airi.  Airi on the other hand made me love her from the very beginning; her scrappiness, wit, sarcasm and sheer bravado made her the perfect counterpart for the always sure and surly Maxum.  As she found a way to join his little band of thieves and ingratiate herself with (almost) the entire crew we get to see her come even more out of her shell and find her confidence and self-awareness.  While she definitely let her mouth get her into trouble a few times, in the end it was her bravery, strength and love that won the day and allowed Maxum, and her, to have their HEA, even if not in the way they originally expected.  I was amazed at the passion between these two, the tension that ran as an undercurrent between them constantly, and ultimately the love that showed they were truly soul mates and meant to be from the beginning of time.  I loved that Maxum came to the conclusion that his curse and all the years of punishment were worth every moment as it allowed him to be in the time where Airi was and no one else would ever do for him. I am sad to see this series end but it was definitely a wild and crazy trip with these four brothers and the magical women that they manage to convince to love them.  Ms. Frank has certainly redeemed herself with these last three stories and I am so glad I had the chance to read this series. Thanks for the amazing trip in this astonishing and peculiar world.
*ebook provided by publisher (via netgalley) for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided.

Sunday, April 30, 2017

Review: Firestorm (Dark Kings #10)

Firestorm (Dark Kings #10)

by Donna Grant

Blurb:
Dimitri lives to protect the secret of the Dragon Kings from the human race. Bound by a bond stronger than blood to the Kings, Dimitri uses his strength and prowess to defend a thousand-year-old secret. But when an oh-so-sexy, slightly absent-minded archaeologist wanders into his midst, Dimitri will have to give up his rules, and give in to desire...
When Dr. Faith Reynold stumbles upon an ancient skeleton that appears it comes from a dragon, she’s completely taken aback. A woman of science, there’s no way in her mind that this mythological creature can exist. But when a devilishly handsome man named Dimitri intercepts her path to uncovering the truth, Faith’s curiosity turns into all-consuming passion. She’s never felt this way about any man before. But when Dimitri reveals his biggest secret, can she learn to love the man—as well as the dragon within, in Firestorm, the next Dark Kings novel by New York Times bestselling author Donna Grant.

Themes: Paranormal, Dragons
Rating: 4 stars
Heat Rating:
Review:
 The dragons are on the loose and there is no stopping the war now—even if they’d like to be able to.  Donna’s skill with interweaving her many series all into a single world is unparalleled and leaves you feeling like you are really moving through their worlds as one of them.  I love these Dragon Kings and as I meet more and more of them I begin to wonder how she comes up with all these varied and amazing personalities.  The story continues with Dimitri being sent back to his former home in order to investigate a claim made by an archeologist that she has discovered the skeleton of a dragon, thereby risking the secrets of the Kings and the war that is coming to claim them.  Dimitri is returning to the island knowing that if the skeleton is really one of his people he will be forced to destroy the skeleton, but when he meets the archeologist, Faith, he is immediately drawn to her.  As they begin to work together Dimitri comes to believe that Faith might be more than just a woman out for glory, she is a woman that has great respect for history and the truth, which is the only goals she has.  Faith is unsure about Dimitri when he first arrives in her life, but the attraction she feels is certainly unprecedented so she is willing to keep him around just to explore those emotions.  I was a bit surprised over Dimitri, being that we’d never gotten to know him to this point, but I loved the way he was willing to be flexible in his plans and offer his trust in Faith as she proved to him that she was a good woman.  Faith certainly had her issues, but I loved the way she was willing to stand up for what she believed in, despite danger to herself and the possibility of losing the accolades that are inherent with her discovery.  Once these two came together, they found a way to work with each other to not only preserve the past, but also to protect their secret and the lives of the individuals at Dreagan. The passionate connection between Faith and Dimitri was put to the test as they are forced to come to terms with the fact that while trust can come quickly, once it is lost it takes a lot to be rebuilt.  The side stories in the novel certainly moved forward quickly and we are STILL no closer to knowing which Dragon King stole and never returned Rhi’s heart, but I’m beginning to wonder if she will be able to find her HEA with him in the end or if Rhi’s future might lead her in another direction altogether.  I am looking forward to the next story in the Dark world, whether it is focused on the Kings or the Reapers, but more and more I believe these stories will be merged together in the end. I am dying to know though where Donna will ultimately lead us, but I know wherever it ends up will not only be passionate, magical, and awesome, but earthshattering and amazing for her readers. 

*eARC provided by publisher (via netgalley) for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided.

Thursday, April 27, 2017

Review: Between a Wolf and a Hard Place (Heart of the Wolf #21)

Between a Wolf and a Hard Place (Heart of the Wolf #21)

by Terry Spear 

Blurb:
Wooing a she-wolf isn't as easy as it looks in this bold paranormal romance from USA Today bestseller Terry Spear
In Silver Town, the secrets run deep...
Alpha werewolf Brett Silver has an ulterior motive when he donates a prized family heirloom to the Silver Town hotel. Ellie MacTire owns the place with her sisters, and he's out to get her attention.
Ellie is even more special than Brett knows. She's a wolf-shifter with a unique ability to commune with the dead. Ellie has been ostracized, so she protects herself and those she loves by revealing nothing-not even when strange and dangerous things begin to happen in Silver Town. And especially not to the devastatingly handsome and generous wolf who's determined to win her over... Themes: Paranormal
Rating: 3.5 stars
Heat Rating:
Review:
So we have returned to the world of the Silver wolves and the pack that has been grabbing our attention and hearts for a long time now.  Terry Spear's long-running Heart of the Wolf series has hit several different areas of the world, and different packs, but the Silver wolves continue to be one of my personal favorites. This story is another fabulous addition to this series with some fun twists, laughs, and interesting characters while still being entirely about the couple and the love they find together.  Ellie and her sisters have resisted as hard as they can to not fall into the arms of the wrong wolf, giving in to their hormones and finding themselves mated to a male that will make them insane quickly.  Brett has tried again and again to capture Ellie for himself, knowing that they are the perfect couple. He has finally found a way to ingratiate himself with Ellie and her sisters and will use his small advantage to its full power.  Ellie was definitely the kind of female that I love to read about, smart, witty, caring, and with a little something extra that makes her even more special. Her interactions with her sisterssisters were hilarious and every time she and Brett were together on the page the heat and emotion between them is undeniable. Brett is a great guy, and it is obvious that he will do whatever is necessary to make himself what Ellie needs. In the end there was some mystery, some craziness, and a lot of love throughout this story and I loved every moment of this story. I am wondering where the series will take us next, but I have no doubt I will enjoy every moment of it as I do whatever Terry writes.  And now that we have a bit of crossover between series I wonder if one day we may have us a wolf/jaguar mating.  Another great love story with fun, laughs, tears and one of my favorite themes of sexy wolf shifters. 

*eARC provided by publisher (via netgalley) for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided.

Sunday, April 23, 2017

ARC Review: Sit...Stay...Beg (The Dogfather #1)

Sit...Stay...Beg (The Dogfather #1)

by Roxanne St. Claire 

Blurb:
Garrett Kilcannon, a former dot com super-success who now devotes his life to rescuing dogs and finding them homes, prefers to keep his secrets buried as deep as a dog hides his bone. So when he learns his father has invited a journalist to Waterford Farm to write and produce an in-depth profile on him, he doesn’t care that she’s a childhood friend or drop dead gorgeous. He has zero tolerance for the media…until he sees a different side when she gets through the walls of a rescue dog who’s refused to eat during her short stay at Waterford. Unwillingly charmed and undeniably attracted, Garrett agrees to the interview that could break down a few of his emotional walls, too.
Garrett might not want to share the story of his colorful former life, but Jessie Curtis has the skills to peel back the layers of this sexy, complicated, caring man. In the process, she not only discovers his secrets, she finds herself falling for a man who touches her heart in a way she never thought possible. Her entire career is riding on this one explosive interview, but can she bear to repay Garrett’s trust by selling his secrets? Or can a woman who gave up on happiness a long time ago learn to believe that all it takes to rescue a lost heart is the love of a good man?
Themes: contemporary
Rating: 4.75 stars
Heat Rating: 
Review:
 One of my favorite authors has combined her wit and charm in writing truly endearing romances with one of my favorite current issues—the tragedy of animals being deserted and left to die in shelters. As with some of the best series currently on the shelves, The Dogfather series begins with a tragedy, the loss of the family matriarch much too young, but the good that seems to come from that loss will be the basis for the entire series and the changes coming to the lives of her family. Roxanne St. Claire is one of those authors that can break your heart and have you in tears one moment and then the next all is right with the world because the lessons learned by her characters are realistic and lessons that each of us sometimes need to learn the hard way. As with every first in a series, there is a lot of world building and prep for the future stories, but interwoven with that is the story of a  girl that is going to learn the true value she can have in the world and a man that has been hiding for too long from a secret that should never have been his responsibility to carry. And of course, not to be discounted, Roxanne introduces some fun and lovable characters of the four-legged variety, Characters that some would discount, but a true animal lover would understand are just as important to the story as the two-legged characters, front and center in this story being the lovable and depressed Lola, who will grab your heart from the minute you meet her and not let go even when you turn the last page. If you are looking for a truly charming, loving and fascinating romance, Sit…Stay…Beg will be the perfect book to settle in with a mug of hot cocoa (or cold glass of sweet tea, if you’re in the South like I am) and a furry love of two. I cannot wait to learn more about the enigmatic and vastly different Kilcaannon family members as each of Daniel Kilcannon’s children fall into his web and find their hearts stolen.
The lovers in this story both have serious histories and hangups to deal with as they are reunited after over a decade apart. While their joint history is pretty tame and innocent, they have each had serious hurts and  damage done to them in the past.  Garrett has turned his life around, Returning to his childhood home after the death of his mother and giving up a lucrative job as the head of his own company, but honestly it was an easy decision.  Garrett has become disillusioned with the opposite sex, not offering his trust fully, and certainly not willing to truly open himself up for any further hurt. There is no denying he has a heart of gold, because the animals he has devoted his life to trust him implicitely, but his hurts have made him suspicious, grumpy and pretty much a bear to deal with most of the time.  When Jessie lands back in his life there is an instant attraction, but her job is pretty insurmountable for a man that is trying to hide his secrets from the world.  When he did finally open up and let Jessie have a place in his heart, he shows us the true depths of his loving heart and proves that animals really are the best judges of character. I hated to see how easily he returned to the mistrust that defined his life at the first hint of trouble, but thankfully his family is able to talk sense into him and he comes to understand that truly loving someone means trusting them with everything including your heart, secrets, and future. In the end Garrett proves he is just the kind of man all us single women are looking to find and make ours. (Any thoughts on where I can find my own Garrett, Rocki?) :) 
Jessica has led an interesting life, but for all the challenges she has faced and overcome, she never really forgot the life that ended early when she was shipped away from the home of her youth.  For Jessie returning to her hometown, begging for the help of a family that once served as the highlight of her life and the fantasy life she wanted, mean facing the differences in her reality and those fantasies.  When she sees Garrett again there is no denying she is still attracted to him, though he is certainly not the same carefree young man she shared a single intimate moment with, but she is desperate for his help and willing to give up a bit of her pride in order to get the help she needs. I liked Jessie, her sweeteness, charm and ability to bring the peace out in those around her is not a trait to be discounted.  Just by being herself, Jessie has Garrett falling under her spell and soon the fear and sadness that has weighed him down for years is lifted.  Her willingness to give up her happiness in order to protect those she loves, even at the expense of her only dream, shows the strength of her character and provides an excellent role model for us all.  I loved getting to see Jessis kicking butts and taking names when those she loves are hurting, even though he thinks she has lost any chance of ever having that love again.  In the end these two characters were perfect for one another.
The Dogfather series has definitely kicked off with a bang and I am thrilled to have had the chance to enjoy this story before it was shared with the world.  Daniel Kilcannon  is the type of family patriarch that can sometimes scare those of us from families that aren’t as tight knit and in each other’s business as this big loving Irish family, but in the end his skill and love shows as he brings his children back into the fold and makes sure they all understand just how loved they truly are.  Garrett has some darkness in him, from his past mistakes, and offering his trust—or his love—is not something he does lightly, but once a woman has earned his love she will do just about anything to keep it.  Garrett is just the kind of man I would see falling for the sweet, witty, and lonely Jessie despite his closed mind and heart in the beginning.  Jessie certainly has her work cut out for her, professionally and personally, once she decides she wants something personal with Garrett very much.  Jessie has to overcome her own issues with feeling unloved in order to offer her heart, but once she does there is no stopping the tears when she is hurting.  The passion between Garrett and Jessie was the kind of slow simmer you don’t really imagine will ever become a conflagration, until you realize the fire has become uncontrollable and undeniable. I love sharing the heartbreak, love and passion that Jessica and Garrett found together and I am looking forward to watching them build their lives, including the loveable Lola, in future stories in this series.  As always I am amazed with Rocki’s ability to bring together two people that you don’t think work out on paper, but in the end their love is an experience that you are thrilled you were able to share.  I cannot wait to find out which sibling finds love next and to get to learn more about this fabulous, loving, and large Irish family and the fantastic animal sanctuary that they call home.

*eARC provided by author for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided.

Wednesday, April 19, 2017

Review: Wild Ride (Black Knights Inc. #9)

Blurb:
Ethan "Ozzie" Sykes
Former Navy SEAL
Underground operator for Black Knights Inc., the covert government defense firm disguised as a custom motorcycle shop.
In a black-on-black international mission that went seriously sideways, Ozzie was badly injured—now he's stuck at BKI headquarters in Chicago, champing at the bit to get out into the field again. To his disgust, he's tasked with distracting Chicago Tribune ace reporter Samantha Tate, who's been trying to dig up the dirt on BKI for years. Turns out Samantha's beauty, intelligence and sense of humor are a seriously big distraction, and Ozzie's losing his desire to keep her at bay.
Ozzie's tired of hiding, and Samantha may be the best-and worst—person to share his secrets with...
Themes: 
Rating:  stars
Heat Rating:
Review:
 Finally everyone’s favorite Black Knight has found his own love and they are living a wild and crazy HEA. So let’s be honest here ladies, the one thing that is every woman’s Kryptonite is a sexy, sweet, super intelligent and brave guy.  Those qualities are so rare in the male population as is, but to have more than one—or heaven forbid all of those traits, a woman has no chance of keeping her heart safe from that kind of man. Fans of this series have known for a very long time that the woman to steal Ozzie's heart would have to be equally intelligent brave and a perfect foil for his sweet endearing qualities, and that their love story would be off-the-charts awesome.  Walker definitely manages to include action, craziness, silliness and the lasting love that make these stories worth the read, and still let us see the emotional attachment that two people really need in order to have a lasting and loving relationship. Ozzie is currently benched due to an unfortunate series of events that left not only his body broken, but also his emotional calm in danger of cracking.  Left behind at the home base instead of being allowed in the field leaves Ozzie itching for some action and definitely more than willing to find a way to kick some ass. He has been “dating” Samantha for a few months now, originally planning to monitor the intrepid reporter to keep her out of BKI business, but more and more she is working her way into his heart and mind and he is coming to a point where his feelings for her are making him unable to lie to her anymore.  Samantha knows there is more to her boyfriend’s job, and to the company he works for;  her reporter instincts are always on high alert, but when she receives information that Ozzie and his friends are dangerous criminals, she isn’t sure exactly how she feels about it, but she knows she can’t let a story like that go.  When her life is in danger, Ozzie and his group are the only thing standing between her and certain death, but can she learn to trust in time to keep them all alive or will she lose her chance to love the most extraordinary man she’s ever known? Ozzie has been a favorite Knight since the beginning of this series, with his slight geekiness, sweet kindness, and bad ass skills he is the whole package. But truly nobody is perfect and Ozzie has a few issues to work through in order to find his HEA and he is determined that he make Samantha his,  once and for all.  Samantha is the kind of heroine that you start out thinking will be in the TSTL category, though once she breaks through her preconceived notions about BKI she is smart enough to know she needs their help to stay alive. She is definitely an intelligent lady, but she is also tough enough to protect herself under most circumstances, making her perfect for Ozzie.  The passion between these two has been a long time coming and when they finally give in there is no denying the heat, or the possibility for true chemistry between two very different people.  I loved seeing Ozzie and Samantha battling each other as well as working together to keep her safe, with plenty of laughter to keep their courting from being too serious, especially considering the seriousness of their daily lives.  Ozzie remains one of my favorite Knights and I enjoyed seeing him kicking ass again, while Samantha did irritate me at first I came to love her, just as Ozzie did, because there really is no other woman that would come close to filling the whole in Ozzie's heart meant for his soul mate.  The action was interesting even if I was surprised by a few of the twists, and of course I loved the way Walker briefed Samantha on the true nature of the work BKI does and the greatness that is Ozzie.  I also enjoyed the hints at future love for our sexy British friend and the newest member of BKI and cannot wait to see their story continue to unfold.  That being said, I have a feeling there won’t be many more stories in this series, which makes me sad, but at the same time I know this series will be reread many times.  As always,  a fabulous foray into the world of special operators, the danger they can get into, and the women that always manage to steal their hearts in the most unexpected of ways.  Keep up the amazing work Ms. Walker so I can  continue to tell the world of your greatness. 

*ebook provided by publisher (via netgalley) for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided.

Sunday, April 16, 2017

ARC Review: Hard-Hearted Highlander (Highland Grooms #3)

Hard-Hearted Highlander (Highland Grooms #3)

by Julia London

Blurb:
A indomitable governess...a brooding Highlander...a forbidden affair...
An ill-fated elopement cost English-born governess Bernadette Kent her reputation, her fickle lover and any chance of a future match. She has nothing left to fear—not even the bitter, dangerously handsome Scot due to marry her young charge. Naive wallflower Avaline is terrified to wed Rabbie Mackenzie, but if he sends her home, she will be ruined. Bernadette's solution: convince Rabbie to get Avaline to cry off while ignoring her own traitorous attraction to him.
A forced engagement to an Englishwoman is a hard pill for any Scot to swallow. It's even worse when the fiancée in question is a delicate, foolish young miss unlike her spirited, quick-witted governess. Sparring with Bernadette brings passion and light back to Rabbie's life after the failed Jacobite uprising. His clan's future depends upon his match to another, but how can any Highlander forsake a love that stirs his heart and soul?
Themes: Historical, Scotland
Rating: 4 stars
Heat Rating: 
Review:
The scandalous Scots are back in a big way.  Julia London is one of my favorite historical authors and there is very little of her writing I have read that I didn’t fully enjoy every second of.  This third novel in the Highland Grooms series reintroduced us to the second son of the couple from the first story, Rabbie Mackenzie, and he is a sad man in need of a little bit of a wildcat to bring him back to life.  London’s skill with bringing tragic characters to life is undeniable and  her characters are always interesting and the interactions between them are usually hot enough to burn the pages of the story to ash.  If you have missed the two previous novels in this series you might miss a bit of the details and the greatness that is this family, but in the end each is a stand alone novel and the characters and bits of backstory we read is enough to keep each story awesome in its own right.  I am wondering if this will end the series, and seriously hoping not, because I am looking forward to seeing Rabbie’s Sister, Cat, find her own hunk to make her fall in love, but if it is in fact the end, the series definitely went out on a high note. 
Rabbie has been moping around his family home for a few years now, every since the failed Jacobite rebellion cost him his future and the life of the woman he loved.  While he knows he has a duty to his family that cannot be escaped, he is reticent to give in to his parents’ desire to wed a young English girl that is forever quaking in her slippers at just the sight of him.  When his young bride arrives, with her expected entourage, he is deeply surprised and appalled to meet her lady's maid, an outspoken, mouthy, and sinfully lovely young woman that hits all his hot buttons even as he thinks he hates her on first sight. Bernadette has come along with her young charge, given no choice but to serve as a lady’s maid who years before would have been one of her peers.  A scandalous past has left her as damaged goods in the eyes of society, but she is wiling to work with what she has.  As they are forced to spend more time together both Rabbie and Bernadette discover a deep and abiding truth, sometimes hate at first sight is really just love in disguise.  But with so many obstacles in their way, Rabbie and Bernadette have to decide what they are truly willing to risk in order to get their happily ever afters.
Rabbie  is the kind of character that is so annoying in the beginning you cannot imagine you will come to like or even love him, and really if we readers can’t love him how on earth could Bernadette come to love him? Well luckily for us, Rabbie finds a way to relate to Bernadette and is able to pull himself back from the precipice he has been dancing on in order to have a future.  He fights hard for what he wants once he really sees she is worth any fight and that the love they share makes him a better man.  I wanted to punch him a few times when he tried to “do the right thing” and continue with the plans to marry Avaline, but thankfully he pulled his head out of the bottle (and his butt) in time to see the wonderfully perfect woman that was right in front of him.  Sexy, stubborn, arrogant, and ultimately sweet, Rabbie is the perfect example of a  Scot of his time, and I loved getting to experience his heartbreak, growth, and rebirth in the love he had for Bernadette.  Bernadette conversely, I loved from the very first moment she graced the page of this novel.  She obviously has an independent streak, bravery, and a deep ability to give her heart and soul to those she loves. While she has made a few decisions in the past that she doesn’t necessarily regret, but that have led her in an unexpected direction in life, she lives with the consequences even though they are not all that great.  I enjoyed seeing her stand up for her friend, as well as herself and Rabbie, once she is unable to hide her love for Rabbie anymore.
So in the end this scandalous Highland Groom was able to defeat the forces keeping him and his sweet English Rose apart and find a way to make her his wife.  While Rabbie definitely started out Hard-hearted he found his way to peace and was able to open his heart not only to Bernadette, but her love and acceptance allowed him to open his heart to his family again and find a measure of happiness in his crazy family.  Rabbie was a tortured hero, with a sordid and tragic past and a stubbornness to moving on that made him the ultimate challenge for the heroine Bernadette.  Once Bernadette decided he was worth the risk—and all the trouble—she found a way to love him and force him to admit his love for her as well.  The passion between these two began as antagonism and slowly developed from there to interest and a fiery passion that touched those around them and proved that love can come from the most unexpected of directions and certainly be a case of opposites attracting. I enjoyed getting to see Rabbie and Bernadette butt heads, fight with one another, and finally discover their mutual attraction was a special gift they could not neglect to take advantage of.  I am hoping that Julia isn’t through with this amazing group of Highlanders just yet, but Hard-hearted Highlander  is a wonderful read in its own right and I am looking forward to reading more.   Packed with tears, drama, intrigue, and passion, Rabbie and Bernadette take us on an adventure over the Scottish moors, through the political dangers that effected so many lives during this era, and ultimately showed us that though these Scots are sometimes bigger than life, their very humanity is rooted in the most important traditions of any culture—family, community, and faith.  Great job, Julia, a true work of art. 
*ARC provided by author for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided.



Tuesday, April 11, 2017

Review: HOT Addiction (Hostile Operations Team #10)

HOT Addiction (Hostile Operations Team #10)

by Lynn Raye Harris 

Blurb:

Tell Dex I’m sorry. I shouldn’t have let it go this far. I’ve thought for a while that marrying him wasn’t right, that I’m not the woman for him—I should have been brave enough to say so. He deserves more.
When Dex “Double Dee” Davidson was abandoned at the altar by the woman he loved, he threw himself into his military career, training hard enough to get accepted into the elite Black Ops unit known as HOT. The love he felt for Annabelle Quinn burned to ash in the face of her betrayal—so when she crashes back into his life and begs him to save her, he has no problem laughing in her face.
Blackmailed into jilting Dex and forced into an abusive marriage, Annabelle never thought she’d escape the hell of the last five years. But her husband died a month ago and she’s finally free. Except she isn’t. Someone claims that Eric stole a fortune—and they want it back. If she doesn’t return it within twenty-four hours, she’ll be dead—and so will her young daughter. With time running out, Annabelle has no one to turn to. No one except Dex.
When Dex learns that Annabelle’s husband committed treason against the US by selling a top secret military project to the Russians, he has no choice but to get involved. He’ll protect Annabelle and her child, and he’ll find out who’s threatening her. But he won’t fall for her intoxicating sensuality ever again. And if he discovers the secret she’s been hiding from him? It’ll be game over for good…
Themes: contemporary
Rating: 4.25 stars
Heat Rating:  
Review:

 k so for any true romance reader the “second-chance at love” trope is one that you have encountered and it is usually a situation where it’s a love or hate of the story.  The skill of the author is the single most important factor in the quality of these types of stories… and luckily for us Lynn is a kick-ass author with the skill to pull just about anything off.  I have long been a fan of this series and for each new couple that we get to watch fall in love, I fall more in love with Lynn’s writing and her immense ability to bring people together in a way that keeps them exciting and makes you wish you could experience a love like her characters find.  This is one of those stories that has as many heartbreaking moments as it does heartwarming ones, but in the end good conquers evil and the HOT team rises above all challenges and beats all obstacles. If you haven’t read the other stories in this series, you might miss out on a bit of the undertones of Dex’s story but once you learn more about him, I promise you will love him as much as loyal fans do. This series keeps getting better, and though I know the original group is now all paired off, except Mendez, the HOT SEALs spinoff series is already underway so I am thrilled to be seeing more of these characters.  I understand that Mendez will be getting his story soon and we had a hell of a cliffhanger at the end of this story that will lead to an awesome beginning for his book. If you enjoy a well-written suspenseful military romance, you cannot go wrong with anything Ms. Harris writes, but her HOT team lives up to their name is every way imaginable and seeing them fall in love is beyond a wonderful experience.
Dex “Double Dee” Davidson has devoted the last 5 years of his life to his military career and making himself impenetrable to the women he has entertained in his life.  He no longer offers his heart to anyone, never wanting his heart to be shattered like it was when he was left at the altar by the love of his life. When he returns to his childhood home to assist with a family crisis, he never imagined he’d get pulled back in by that sweet girl that broke him, but when Annabelle storms back into his life there’s no denying he still has feelings for her.  Belle is desperate; with her bastard of a husband dead and the responsibilities of being a single mother and business owner falling squarely on her shoulders, she does not know how to handle the death threat or ultimatums that have just come in to her life. When she seeks out the help of the only man she ever loved, she knows it will be an uphill battle to overcome her mistakes and regain his trust, but she never imagined the love and chemistry between them would still be so explosive. With both their lives, the life of her young daughter and friends, and the fates of the HOT team in their hands, Dex and Belle must find a way to trust each other enough to get out alive, or risk losing everything.
I really liked Dex even though he was a little hard of Belle, but I can see where his hurt and bruised pride could keep him from giving her a second chance right away.  But luckily for Belle (and us readers), Dex is incapable of turning his back on someone in trouble.  I have wondered for a long time what broke his heart and made him so jaded towards love and women, and now that we know I can see where he would be callous and try to incase his heart in ice.  He is obviously a sexy, strong, and brave guy, being a member of the HOT Alpha squad, but seeing him interacting with his team as well as Bella allowed us to see different sides of him, while at the same time allowing Belle to come to know the Dex of now, not just the young man she loved and left.  When Dex is forced to come to terms with a secret Belle has been unintentionally holding from him, we get to see an even sweeter side of Dex and I can already tell that he will be one of the softest HOT guys where his family is concerned.  Belle has lived in hell for the last five years, not only broken hearted about losing Dex, but having to deal with a blackmailing, evil husband, and trying to raise her daughter without any of that darkness blending into her little girl’s life.  I was afraid I was going to dislike Belle, mainly because I couldn’t imagine liking anyone that broke Dex in such a way, but when I got to learn more about Belle I realized she was really a brave woman now, even if she was a scared young woman when she made a mistake that tore her life apart five years ago.   Belle is strong, even when she sometimes forgets it, but when her daughter is in danger, she steps up and there is no way she will allow her daughter to be taken from her.  It was nice to see her grow up and make better choices, thankfully choices that bring Dex back into her life for good.
HOT Addiction adheres to the name, it will addict you to the series if you haven’t already been roped in. The HOT operators are the kind of men that any woman wants to have at her back in a crisis and beside her in her life during times of peace.  Dex is a sexy, alpha, tortured hero with the skills to kick butt and the heart to be willing to forgive just about anything.  Annabelle is a woman with a lot of regrets, but in the end, she knows she must live with her choices and try to move on.  The two of them were obviously meant to be and when they come back together the heat and energy between them is instantly combustible.  The sizzling passion and intense emotion that is evident in their sensual moments shows readers that even the most neglected love never truly dies for two people meant to be, like these two are.  It was thrilling to finally see Dex find his HEA and being able to see him return to his lost love and show her the forgiveness she so readily needed, reminds us all that there are still men out there that are truly good at their core.  I am dying to see what comes next for these totally alpha operators and I cannot wait to find out if or when Mendez will get his very own HEA.  Keep the masterpiece’s coming Lynn and I can guarantee my big southern mouth will continue to spread the word about this fabulous series.

*eARC provided by publisher (via netgalley) for the purpose of an honest and unbiased review.  No compensation was provided.